Skip to content

What Would You Do…For A Jelly Bean?!?

March 19, 2012

Lucky for me, I was one of the select few bloggers chosen to participate in Surf Sweets Jelly Bean Bake-Off competition!  One of my best friends, and former roommate, Kristin was also in town to support me and be my muse in this adventurous task 🙂 I must say, I was pleasantly surprised with my creations and in fact, narrowed it down to two choices and cannot seem to choose between the two!  I figured, my readers are here to give me there opinion, so let me hear which one is your favorite choice.

Creation #1

Peanut Butter and Jelly BEAN Tart

This creation was DELICIOUS!  It tasted just like a peanut butter shortbread, speckled with Jelly Beans and then filled with a Jelly Bean Jam.  I reduced Jelly Beans with corn syrup until they formed a sticky sweet jam substance.  The top of the tart is glazed with a peanut butter frosting that makes this dessert top the charts.

Yummmmmm…the recipe?  Quite simple too!

– 1/4 cup butter

– 3/4 cup peanut butter

– 1 cup light brown sugar

– 2 eggs

– 2 tsps vanilla

– 1 pinch salt

– 1 1/2 cups gluten free flour blend (I used King Arthur’s)

– 1 cup arrowroot starch

– 1/4 cup jelly beans and 4 tbsp jelly beans (for jam)

– 5 tbsp corn syrup

– 1/4 cup peanut butter

– 1/4 cup softened butter

– 1/4 cup confectioners sugar

Directions: Combine first 6 ingredients in a medium sized bowl.  Stir in the flour and starch a little at a time.  Add in the 1/4 cup jelly beans and mix thoroughly.  Grease 4 mini tart pans and press the mixture into the tart pan so that it spreads evenly.  Take a spoon and create a small well in the center of the tart.  Bake at 375 degrees for 18 minutes or until golden brown.  Meanwhile, chop your remaining 4 tbsp of jelly beans and combine in a sauce pan with 4 tbsp corn syrup.  Cook together over low heat until jelly beans are soft.  Then take a potato masher and smash the beans so they can break down further.  Add in the final tbsp of corn syrup.  Consistency should be somewhat like a jelly bean pudding.  Fill the well in the tart with the jam and cook for another 5 minutes.  Meanwhile, combine the peanut butter, confectioners sugar and butter in a bowl and whisk together until combined.  Frost to your liking and ENJOY!!

We sure did 🙂

However, my creative instinct didn’t stop there…

Creation #2

Tropical Carrot Cake Cupcakes

These were cakey, moist and decadent little morsels and my friends and I couldn’t get enough!  Carrot cake, sweetened with tropical flavored jelly beans and coconut and doused in a cream cheese and coconut frosting.

This was such a difficult decision!  Here, you check out the recipe and help me decide 🙂

– 2 cups sugar

– 3 cups GF flour

– 1 cup arrowroot starch

– 1 tsp baking soda

– 1 tsp salt

– 1 tsp cinnamon

– 2 cups grated carrots

– 1/2 cup shredded coconut

– 1 1/3 cups vegetable oil

– 4 eggs

– 1 cup chopped walnuts

– 1 cup jelly beans

– 1 tsp vanilla extract

– 1 tsp lemon extract

– 1 tsp almond extract

– 1/2 cup butter

– 8 oz cream cheese

– 16 oz powdered sugar

– 2 tsp vanilla

– shredded coconut, for garnish

Directions: Preheat oven to 350 degrees and line your muffin tins with cupcake liners.  Combine your dry ingredients in a large mixing bowl and add carrots, oil and eggs.  Beat well, until mixed.  Add other 5 ingredients and stir.  Put into cupcake liners and bake for 15 minutes on the middle shelf.  Remove when golden brown.  For frosting, combine butter, vanilla, cream cheese and powdered sugar.  Top cupcakes with frosting and shredded coconut and devour!

Which we did 🙂  So which do you think would taste better??

My friends and Hubby couldn’t decide either!!!

But one thing was pretty clear…

These desserts did NOT go to waste 🙂  And thanks to Surf Sweets and their delicious jelly beans, I have a new found love for my new recipe creations.  Hope you enjoy them if you try them as well!!

XOXO

Alyssa

2 Comments leave one →
  1. xandria permalink
    May 5, 2012 9:44 am

    Holy Jelly Beans, I have never seen anything like this!

  2. June 7, 2012 9:36 pm

    These recipes are full of fun! Here at Rudi’s we’re always looking for fun ways to change up the typical gluten free dessert and this definitely does it! Great job on the creativity and keep it up, we can’t wait to see your next masterpiece! 🙂

"Musings" Welcome!