Skip to content

Frijoles Negros

July 27, 2010

Another recipe I can claim as my own 🙂 Woohoo Alyssa!! I feel like a native Cubana 🙂  The thing about these black beans is the cheese undertone…so good!!  If you are highly lactose intolerant, I would recommend using Daiya cheese, it would melt nicely!

Frijoles Negros

– 3 can black beans, drained and rinsed

– 2 cans Rotel Tomatoes

– 1 round of Mozzarella Cheese (cubed)

– 1 onion, chopped

– 4 cloves of garlic, chopped

– 1 tsp salt, 1 tsp pepper

Method:  Saute onion and garlic in a tsp of olive oil.  Once translucent, add to your crock pot.  Put your beans, cheese, tomatoes, salt and pepper into the pot.  Turn heat to low and allow to simmer for several hours, stirring every so often.  Once the cheese has all melted, serve over saffron rice and enjoy!

I make saffron rice using the yellow packets in the Ethnic aisle at the grocery store.  The ingredients are non-gluten, but it doesn’t say GF on it.  If you are hyper sensitive, I would just use regular rice.

So delicious!!

How would you use black beans to make them into another Ethnic Food?? Let’s say…Italian??  Have fun with this one!

15 Comments leave one →
  1. July 27, 2010 5:49 pm

    oooooooh, tricky tricky! i wonder if you could make black bean pasta? sounds kinda nasty but intriguing 🙂

    • July 27, 2010 6:17 pm

      Heather,

      That would be SUPER interesting 🙂 If you try it, let me know :-)!

      ~Alyssa

  2. July 27, 2010 6:17 pm

    I love black beans. I’d probably stir them into marinara sauce and eat it over pasta. But only because I love black beans, I’m not sure if it would really taste that good all together.

    • July 27, 2010 6:18 pm

      Holly,

      I think that would taste great! Black beans are so mild, they would probably be masked by the marinara 🙂

      ~Alyssa

  3. July 27, 2010 6:41 pm

    You won’t believe this but my co.worker added black beans to her pasta recipe and it really did taste good.

    Your recipe creation looks amazing!

    • July 27, 2010 6:54 pm

      Priyanka,

      I knew black beans would be good in pasta!! Haha, I really didn’t know, but I thought they had potential. Good to know it does taste great!

      ~Alyssa

  4. July 27, 2010 6:54 pm

    I love anything with black beans!! You are quiet the cook! 😉

  5. July 27, 2010 8:00 pm

    I love black beans! This recipe looks like something I really need to make soon. Thanks for posting it. I’ve been coveting it since you first posted that picture. 😀

    Hmm, not sure how to use black beans in another cuisine. Maybe black bean hummus? x) Or maybe, for Italian, black bean polenta (mashed black beans mixed with polenta) and topped with an Italian salsa (basil, oregano, minced tomatoes and garlic)? Ooh, the possibilities!

    • July 27, 2010 10:11 pm

      Kaz,

      I think you’re on to something with the black bean polenta!! Sounds fantastic!

      ~Alyssa

  6. July 27, 2010 8:48 pm

    Looks great! It has been so long since I have had black beans. I used to eat them all the time. My favorite was black bean soup.

    • July 27, 2010 10:11 pm

      Twinsies,

      Black bean soup is one of my favs 🙂 I still buy Amy’s black bean soup to have for emergencies!

      ~Alyssa

  7. July 28, 2010 4:38 am

    I love the idea of cooking the beans WITH the cheese, instead of simply adding it afterward. Cheese is SO much better when it’s melted!

    I agree with others about adding beans to pasta! There’s actually a famous Italian dish called pasta i fagioli…the only difference is that it contains white beans!

    • July 28, 2010 1:55 pm

      Sara,

      I think pasta i fagioli would be fantastic with black beans! Good thinking!

      ~Alyssa

"Musings" Welcome!