Skip to content

Weekly Update: 20 Weeks and Choffy Winner!

June 18, 2014

Before I get too far into this post, I need to announce our Choffy winner!

Carey at The Butternut Beat

Congratulations!  Please email me with your shipping info and I’ll have the Choffy shipped to you.

So, this pregnancy thing…so far, I can’t lie, it has been pretty enjoyable!  I’m not eating any particular strict training diet, and in fact I’ve been craving more vegan foods than anything.  I have continued working out pretty much the same as I was before, but less jumping/bouncing movements than previously.  My energy levels have been OK.  And lastly, my mood swings have also been pretty non-existent…give or take a few….here or there…maybe more prevalent recently 😉

Weight Gain:  about 13 lbs-ish (it tends to go up and down each week)

Cravings:  None really, other than healthy food and I really love Greek Yogurt.  2% Fage to be exact.

Aversions:  None really.  I’m not a huge fan of meat, especially if I have to prepare it myself, but I can do it…just don’t like it much.  If someone else cooks it, I’m totally fine.

Movement:  Lots and lots of movement!  I started feeling slight movements around 15 weeks and it has progressively gotten more frequent and stronger.  I can now watch the skin on my stomach protrude when the little one flips around.  Pretty crazy seeing as the baby is only 10 oz and about 10 inches long!  I can’t imagine what it will be like near the end.

Gender:  We found out at 13 weeks what the gender was, and I felt like I knew from about 8 weeks.  I was 95% positive of the gender and at 13 weeks I was right!  We are having our Anatomy Scan/Fetal Survey tomorrow and will confirm the gender then.  Looks like I’ll announce officially next week!

Exercise:  Not much has changed.  I actually started running more after I found out I was pregnant for fear of losing my running ability.  The running is finally starting to become laborious.  I start out at a pretty good clip, but after about a mile or so, my legs feel like lead and I just feel HEAVY.  I just keep plugging away at it and will do so until I start to feel uncomfortable.  The longer I can stay with it, the better it will be in the long run I think.

Baby Prep:  Hubby and I are taking Bradley Method classes and are really enjoying them.  We are 3 classes in and have 9 left.  I should be right around 30 weeks by the time we are done.  I think Hubby is learning a lot, and I THINK he likes it?  Oh well, if he doesn’t he’s hiding it well 😉  Nursery is still empty (except for all of the normal furniture in there that was rearranged) but my first baby shower is happening back in my hometown in a few weeks, so I’m sure the nursery will look more like a nursery after that!  Very exciting…it is going to be so cute.  Can’t wait.  We are also hiring a doula for labor support and I’m pretty excited to start our prenatal sessions…I love massages!

Sleep:  Sleep is still fine.  I wake up at least 3 times a night to pee, but that is and has been pretty standard for me since…hmm…well, forever.  I have the world’s tiniest bladder (not a FACT, but it should be) and so this was to be expected.  I have also been waking up nightly at 1AM to go to the bathroom and so that has been weird, because I usually think it is about 5AM and am then thrilled to find out that I have 4.5 hours left of sleep.  No insomnia, but definitely waking at similar times nightly.

Exciting Moment for this Week:  Seeing my stomach move when the baby moves, and looking forward to the ultrasound tomorrow!

I will do an update on the first trimester as well so I can keep track and read about it at some point down the road!  Ever been pregnant?  How was your experience?

xoxo

Alyssa

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 18, 2014 3:46 am

    Congratulations. Have not been on email for a while, happy to see your news, You look great!

  2. June 20, 2014 9:16 pm

    Yay! Can’t wait to try the Choffy!

"Musings" Welcome!

