Skip to content

Lunch with Friends

April 30, 2013

Why do friends always have to meet up for dinner, or a movie, or shopping? Why not lunch? Lunch is the perfect solution to a low key gathering, and you still have the freedom to do whatever you want in the evening. It is also the perfect solution for friends with kids 🙂 Hubs and I had our friends Marc and Cat over for lunch with their two little ones and had a great time! I wanted an easy prep meal so I could enjoy my morning Crossfit session without worrying about slaving over the stove when I got back.

I woke up at 7:30 and had some banana and almond butter with coffee before heading to Crossfit Bootcamp. I’m loving this new class! High intensity cardio intervals with a focus on Crossfit movements. Not as much heavy weightlifting, so it is a nice and easy alternative to the regular Crossfit sessions. You get as much bang for your buck too!

I came home and began assembling lunch.

 photo IMG_6749_zpsb3497fb6.jpg

I had too many grapefruit and didn’t know what to do with them, so I thought up this citrus salad. Super delicious but I need to find a better way to cut these grapefruit! Sooooo laborious and annoying. Especially if you don’t have patience. Hint: I don’t have patience. Sure looked pretty though!

 photo IMG_6748_zpsc6c98175.jpg

Just a few grapefruit, some naval oranges, blueberries and mint all marinating together. Yummy!

The main courses were soup and salad. I just bought Pacific brands butternut squash soup and heated that up on the stove, and then whipped up this tasty salad.

 photo IMG_6752_zps63582caf.jpg

Spring mix (which I decided I’m not a huge fan of because it doesn’t last well), dried cherries, herbed goat cheese and sliced almonds. I topped it with my new favorite dressing: lemon juice, olive oil, dill, raw honey, dijon mustard and apple cider vinegar. So easy but delicious!

 photo IMG_6751_zpse00e167a.jpg

No photos of the soup or last minute grilled cheese we threw together because I’m a terrible food blogger, but they were great too!

Oh and lastly, Congrats to Elena for winning the Rudi’s giveaway! Please contact me at glutenfreemuse@gmail.com with your shipping info!

What are your go to easy meals? Soups and salad are always a given for me!

Xoxo

Alyssa

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Amanda permalink
    April 30, 2013 7:50 pm

    I had a citrus salad like that on vacation, with grapefruit and … other fruit and goat cheese. It was so amazing! But yes, peeling the grapefruit is such a pain.

    • April 30, 2013 8:02 pm

      If you find a better way of peeling, do share 🙂 I think my next try will involve cutting it into pinwheels and manually extracting the seeds…that sounds a bit simpler!

  2. May 1, 2013 4:07 pm

    I emailed you! Thank you so much for selecting me as a winner 🙂

"Musings" Welcome!

