Skip to content

Living Room Makeover: Part I

April 25, 2013

I’m finally making progress!!  Remember my projects I had going on?  I purchased a few key items for the living room and it has changed the whole look!

I covered the pillows to change the color scheme.  I thought about covering the couches, but for a novice seamstress like myself, it seemed like a brazen undertaking 🙂 I decided to focus on the basic sewing staples (covering pillows being one) and move up from there.  Just changing the pillows made the room look totally different!

Beaubie has been sniffing the new rug to figure out where it came from…he still hasn’t seemed to locate it’s origin 🙂 But he does like it!  I liked the subtle colors and the pattern.  It gives the room a very zen feeling!

I also bought a throw for the couch to tie the pillows and rug together.  It is VERY soft and Beau loves it 🙂  I also bought two matching lamps with a silver accent to give the room a more ethereal feeling.  I now love this room and find it totally relaxing.

The trunk was my cadet trunk (ugly vinyl blue) from the Air Force Academy and Hubby stripped it and stained it.  We are now able to use it as a proper piece of furniture 🙂  I need to trim the flowers in the silver vase as well, but I thought they would help tie the room together.  Still loving my Italy photo accent wall!

The other lamp resides on the window seat for now…not sure if I’ll get an end table or just leave it there.

See that red rug in the dining room?  That one used to be in this living room.  See how different the color scheme is??  Little Beaubie…loves his new rug!

So what’s next?

– I’d love to find a funky accent chair (I’m thinking a steel blue or charcoal color with yellow accent pillows)

– Tie the room together with a circular dark wood or leather coffee table

– Find some sleek centerpieces for the coffee table

– Put a few pieces of artwork on the barren walls

(we have a photo coming from my grandfather that we are very excited about! Hoping to use that above the piano)

I’m trying not to overdo it in this room as I have a tendency to think more is better.  What do you think of the room?  What is your decorating style?  I think I go for “refined prairie”…if you don’t know what I’m talking about, I’m talking about this style:

DSC_7732

Thank you Pottery Barn for always making me want to shop at your store (and then scaring me away with your steep prices!) 🙂

xoxo

Alyssa

4 Comments leave one →
  1. sandy permalink
    April 25, 2013 2:29 pm

    Love the new living room look!

  2. Abby permalink
    April 29, 2013 8:46 pm

    The front room looks wonderful!! I can’t believe it’s changed so much since I was there in January – I can’t wait to see it in person!

    • April 29, 2013 8:48 pm

      Thanks! Still more work to do, but I’m liking it so far! Can’t wait to see you again, sorry its been so long! We’re all so busy!

"Musings" Welcome!

