Skip to content

Stampin’ It Up

April 20, 2013

I LOVE arts and crafts, but…they tend to stress me out.  Reasons?

1.  I’m a perfectionist.  So, when I try to replicate an arts and craft project, I want it to look EXACTLY the same.  Clue…they NEVER DO.

2.  Lots of arts and crafts (scrapbooking for example) require a lot of supplies and can cost a lot of money!  Scrapbooking is a hobby that you need to develop over time while collecting supplies!

3. I have very little patience!  Therefore, I BUY everything at once and it costs loads of money!

4.  Spending money on myself makes me a bit nauseas 😦  I can spend tons of money on other people, but when it comes to me, not really.

So, when I received an invite to a Stamp It Up party, I happily accepted!

We each got to make 3 cards (or 2 cards and a tag) and they were all relatively easy and super cute!

This one was my favorite.  It was classic, cute and simple.

I got to design this tag myself and my inspiration was Anthropologie.  It is hands down my favorite store 🙂  However, I rarely buy anything but candles there because it is outrageously expensive!!

I think an additional perk was that the host, Nancy, has an acre lot and a beautiful farmhouse style home and she embraces that lifestyle wholly!  Even to the point where they raise their own chickens and sell their eggs!!

A dozen cage free organic eggs for $2!!  We even got to pick them out ourselves!   Her chickens lay about 12 eggs each day, so they have tons of eggs available.  I decided to whip up a delicious lunch with these eggs the very next day.  The one thing I love about cage free eggs is their yolk.  They are usually BRIGHT orange and HUGE.  These were no exception!

Can you see how large that yolk is?  I fried up 4 eggs in grass fed butter and chowed down with Hubby!

Do you like arts and crafts or do they stress you out?  Do you buy cage free eggs?  I love the way they taste and look, but they can get pricey!  I hope I can continue buying these eggs regularly 🙂

xoxo

Alyssa

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 21, 2013 10:50 pm

    this looks like a fun thing to do with friends! i get stressed because i am a perfectionist too, my poor nieces try to finger paint with me and i have this whole extravagant drawing planned to do myself lol.. i sometimes buy cage free when they are on sale, you are so right the yolk is huge in them which makes for the best runny egg!

    • April 22, 2013 4:39 pm

      Darn us perfectionists!! Sometimes that trait alone can ruin all the fun 😦 I’m trying to not be so much that way 🙂

      Sent from my iPhone, excuse any typos!

  2. Miranda permalink
    April 24, 2013 2:05 am

    A Stamp Party sounds like fun! I understand perfectionism too…and pinterest is evil for us that are. I get great ideas from that site…but implementation is never exact!! I love the bird tag you made. Anthropologie is my fav store, although I have never been there or bought any of their items. Their clothes are totally my style!! I love their site. Could you send me the info for the cage-free egg lady? I would love to try fresh eggs like that…I have never had them!

    • April 24, 2013 9:33 am

      Hi Miranda! I’m checking with the egg lady to make sure she doesn’t mind me sending business her way 🙂 She sells the eggs out of her home so I don’t want to overwhelm her! Pinterest is totally my downfall!! 😉 Thanks for visiting!

"Musings" Welcome!

