Skip to content

Oh, Monday…

April 11, 2013

You know how annoying it is when people say, “Looks like someone’s got a case of the Mondays!”  Well sometimes, we do get a case of the Mondays…and today was one of those days.  Ugh, after such a great weekend, I had zero motivation at work today.  I tried to waste as much time as possible, but it didn’t make the day go by any faster 😦 Productivity is certainly the way to go.  On top of that, the HEAT was on in our building!  It was 75 degrees out.  Miserable work conditions.

First some supplements.  I know this looks like a lot, but I’m just trying to get rid of a few!  In reality, I would only take kelp, D3, prenatals and fish oil.  The others are just bonus 🙂

Breakfast was the worst tomato I’ve ever had, the best orange I’ve ever had, and some overcooked hard boiled eggs (1 whole egg, and 2 whites).

I came home at lunch to walk this little guy and he brightened my day!

He can make anyone smile…it’s his gift.  Love you Beau!

Dinner was stellar, but I’ve been having an issue lately…I’ve been creating massive amounts of smoke every time I cook!  I think I’m too impatient…cooking at too high of a heat.

I made oven roasted chicken thighs with Sunshine Sauce (courtesy of the Well Fed Cookbook), roasted broccoli, and cauliflower mash.

The chicken and broccoli were AWESOME.  The cauliflower was mehhh.  I boiled it in chicken broth and then mashed it with grassfed butter…just didn’t get the right consistency.  We ate it anyways, but I won’t make it again!  I think I’ll try curry roasted cauliflower next time.

The Sunshine Sauce Recipe is from Melissa Joulwan’s cookbook, Well Fed.

2 tablespoons lime juice
1 clove garlic, minced (about 1 teaspoon)
1/2 teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes
1 tablespoon coconut aminos
1/4 teaspoon powdered ginger
1/2 teaspoon rice vinegar
1/4 cup sunflower seed butter (I like Sunbutter; no sugar added)
dash ground cayenne pepper (optional)
1/4 cup coconut milk

I just whisked the sauce in a bowl, but she does hers in a food processor.  I highly recommend the food processor if you have one!  We had some garlic chunks in ours…not bad, but certainly not texturally pleasing for some folks 🙂  I’d equate this sauce to the Paleo version of Peanut Sauce.  Very yum…awesome recipe, Melissa!  And even better cook book 🙂

We will definitely be having chicken thighs again and more sunshine sauce…this stuff was legit!

Have you ever had a case of the Mondays?  How did you get over it?

xoxo

Alyssa

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 11, 2013 2:27 am

    I used Sunshine Sauce tonight also! I love it for a turkey and veg stir fry….I usually increase the ginger and the rice vinegar by quite a bit to use for stir fry. And I do mine in my magic bullet the day before….and then lick out the container when I’m done!!

    • April 11, 2013 2:26 pm

      Ahh, magic bullet! That is where I should have made mine 🙂 Great idea! And I think next time I’ll use fresh ginger and see how it tastes.

  2. April 11, 2013 4:22 am

    Beau would definitely brighten my day, too! Don’t you love it when you get a great orange? They’re my favorite fruit 🙂

    • April 11, 2013 2:26 pm

      I’ve been striking it rich with oranges lately! The navals are ready to be eaten!! 🙂

"Musings" Welcome!

