Skip to content

Week 2 Grocery Trial Recap and Playlist!

April 10, 2013

Well, Week 2 of the grocery trial is over and I’ve made another discovery.  I need a bit more flexibility in my meal plans!  Sometimes, I don’t want to make something fancy and I just want to throw some veggies, coconut oil or grassfed butter, and meat in a pan, cook it up and eat it!  Hubby and I did not stick to our meal plan this week, but instead we used the groceries I bought and ate about 2 of the 7 planned meals 🙂  The rest we repurposed!

Another thing I realized was that my meal plans are costing me a bit more money than I would spend normally.  If I stuck to my normal meals:  protein, veggie and/or starch, then I would probably be spending less money.  And lastly, I also realized that Hubby and I like to shop in bulk!  While I must admit that the free range chicken has been much tastier than the normal “natural” chicken we buy at Sam’s club.  I think that is definitely one improvement I will make for my future grocery purchases, along with grass fed beef.  Those, I’ve found are actually cheaper to buy at Dorothy Lane Market and Earthfare (both have great sales on occasion!).  And I found that free range chicken at DLM is actually $1 cheaper per pound than it is at Kroger!  I never would have expected that.

All in all, I learned the following from my little experiment…and I’m not going to do week 3 because this experiment is driving me nuts…same meal plan for 3 weeks straight is HARD!

1.  To get the best deals AND the best produce, you HAVE to shop around.  For example, I know that bread, milk and canned goods are SUPER cheap at the commissary and I should buy them there IF CONVENIENT.  Otherwise, the gas I would spend driving there would outweigh the savings.  Produce is cheapest AND best at Kroger Marketplace, whereas meat is CHEAPEST AND BEST at DLM/Earthfare.

2.  I prefer free range and grass fed meats. End of story.  They are better.  However, I have found that I cannot tell the difference in the salmon we’ve purchased.  Frozen from Sam’s is fine by us!

3.  Shopping ONLY at one grocery store (except for Kroger) typically won’t suffice.  And I enjoy shopping at Sam’s Club (would rather it be Costco) for my produce because we eat so much of it.  However, I usually have to go to 2 grocery stores at most and that is ok.

Anyways, lessons have been learned, good meals have been had, and we’re moving on…sorry for the rant!

Salmon and brussels sprouts!

Healthy Chicken Carbonara!

Acorn Squash, Sausage and Apple Hash 🙂  So many good eats!

And now, April’s Running/Workout Playlist!

Alex Gaudino & Jordin Sparks – Is This Love – 129 BPM

Miranda Lambert – Mama’s Broken Heart – 112 BPM

Of Monsters and Men – Little Talks – 107 BPM

Will.I.Am & Justin Bieber – #thatPOWER – 129 BPM

Kylie Minogue – Timebomb – 128 BPM

Afrojack & Chris Brown – As Your Friend – 128 BPM

One Direction – One Way or Another (Teenage Kicks) – 163 BPM

Pitbull & Christina Aguilera – Feel This Moment – 137 BPM

Avicii – Silhouettes (Syn Cole Creamfields Mix Radio Edit) – 128 BPM

Macklemore, Ryan Lewis & Ray Dalton – Can’t Hold Us – 148 BPM

You can get these songs from Run Hundred yourself if you want!

What are your thoughts on Meal Planning?  Does it set you up for success or does it set you up for stress?  Sometimes it is both for me!

xoxo

Alyssa

No comments yet

"Musings" Welcome!

