Skip to content

The Devil’s In The Eggs…

April 8, 2013

That was supposed to be a play on the phrase, “the devil’s in the details” but when I read it again, it just sounds like I’m crazy and think my eggs are possessed or something.  Oh well…I tried to employ my creative freedom.  Perhaps I should just keep it simple?

Now let me begin by saying that I usually do think that the eggs are possessed by the devil.  Have you ever tried peeling eggs so they are perfect for deviled eggs?  THEY WILL DRIVE YOU MAD!  No, I didn’t try the vinegar trick, yes I used the ice bath, no I didn’t try baking soda.  Why does it have to be so complicated??  Well after nearly experiencing a mental breakdown while trying to peel perfect eggs, I had a revelation.  They’ll taste just the same…carry on, soldier!  So we had some deviled eggs for the gathering at our house, but they weren’t pretty to say the least 🙂

I present to you…Deviled Eggs–Ugly Style.

**Caveat:  The only difference between Deviled Eggs and Deviled Eggs–US is sheer laziness :-)**

Deviled Eggs–Ugly Style

– 8 eggs, hard boiled

– 1/4 cup mayonnaise

– 3 Tbsp sweet relish

– 2 Tbsp yellow mustard

– 3 tsp paprika

Directions:  Hard boil your eggs.  I usually bring water to a boil (with eggs in the pot covered by 1 inch of water) and then turn it off, remove from heat, cover and let sit for 10 min.  This leave the yolk slightly undercooked.  For a more firm yolk, try 15-17 min.  Next I plop them into an ice bath for no more than 10 min.  If I go beyond 10 min, they become difficult to peel.  Peel the eggs and carefully cut them in half.  Extract the yolks and add all of the above ingredients.  Whip until the yolk mixture is smooth and fluffy.  Using a ziploc bag with the corner cut off (i.e. ghetto pastry bag), fill your eggs with the yolk mixture.  I tried to make them pretty and then Hubby took over…hence the squiggly nature of the filling 🙂  Dust with paprika for a final touch.  EAT!

The token GIANT egg.  That was reserved for Hubby 🙂

I also whipped up a sausage, apple and acorn squash hash…it was enjoyed by all!

Recipe forthcoming…and some of my favorite cookies 🙂 Paleo Almond Butter Coconut cookies!

What food is the bane of your existence?  Please, you already know my answer…devilish eggs!!!!

Only one day left for the Primal Life Kit Sale!!

Buy Now!

xoxo

Alyssa

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 8, 2013 1:50 pm

    Oh, need the hash recipe! That looks really good!!

"Musings" Welcome!

