Skip to content

Week 1 Grocery Trial Recap

April 1, 2013

Alright, first week down and what do I have to say for myself?  We certainly ate well 🙂

As I mentioned, the first place I shopped was Dorothy Lane Market.  It is primarily an organic, local and specialty store and the prices are adjusted accordingly!  I knew going in that the grocery bill would be high (and as I said, I gagged a bit at the register), but would the food taste better than buying at a lower end grocery store?  Or taste better than non-organic produce?  Well, here are our results!

First up was the Mustard Roast Chicken.  The free range chicken from DLM was divine.  Perfectly cooked and perfectly tender.  The brussels sprouts were alright, but we agreed that our cooking method probably affected them more than the original quality of the sprouts themselves.

The almond crusted salmon was a bit of a disappointment to me.  The fish tasted a bit “fishy” and it was farm raised, not wild caught.  Not worth the price to me!

This dish was a hit!  The shrimp were divine.  They were fresh when purchased, deveined, shelled and detailed.  They were HUGE!  And perfectly plump 🙂 We loved this dish.

All in all, it seemed that by shopping at Kroger Marketplace (just got week 2’s groceries), I was able to save $30 off the bat.  However, I was a bit disappointed with the meat selection.  I have a feeling that I will end up wanting to purchase my meat at DLM and produce elsewhere.  There was a noticeable difference in the quality of meat!  I’ll keep you posted on the findings from week 2!

Don’t forget to stop in tomorrow for the Primal Life Kit Sale!!

Paleo_eBookAd_150x150

And if it suits your fancy…you can click on this button to make it yours!

Buy Now!

I’m so excited to buy this for myself!

So, what are your thoughts on my week 1 grocery recap?  What do you think I should do?  Continue shopping at Dorothy Lane Market?  Only buy my meat there?  We’ll see how weeks 2 and 3 play out 🙂

xoxo

Alyssa

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Beth permalink
    April 1, 2013 2:53 pm

    I get some of my meat at Earth Fare and Landes Meats, both have healthy, organic grown meats.

    • April 1, 2013 2:54 pm

      Where is Landes Meats, Beth? I’ll need to check them out! I like to buy meat at Earth Fare because they have great sales!

  2. Susanne permalink
    April 2, 2013 12:26 am

    I buy my wild caught Alaskan Salmon from Meijer. It is fantastic. Kroger carries a brand called ‘Simple Truth’ and I buy their free range chicken and eggs. Excellent taste!

    • April 2, 2013 1:06 am

      Thanks for the Meier tip, Susanne! I had no idea they would carry wild caught salmon! I did buy the Simple Truth chicken and eggs from Kroger and am loving them both 🙂 The chicken is rivaling that of DLM BUT my experiment shows that free range chicken is $1 cheaper at DLM!! Can you believe that? $5.99 vs $6.99 per lb!!

"Musings" Welcome!

