Skip to content

Paleo Energy Bites

March 30, 2013

These are one of my FAVORITE little snacks.  I used to buy “Chunks of Energy” at my local health food store and would eat them like candy.  But since moving to Dayton, I haven’t been able to find any in the nearby health food stores.  So what did I do?  I decided to make my own!

Paleo Energy Bites

These bites are packed full of power and are calorically dense.  You don’t need more than 2 or 3 to satiate your cravings or hunger!  Not to mention, they are no added sugar, grain free, gluten free, dairy free, vegan and Paleo.  You can’t go wrong 🙂

– 1.5 cups raw cashews

– 7 dates, pitted

– 1/2 cup unsweetened shredded coconut

– 2 Tbsp chia seeds

– 1/2 cup dried cranberries

– 1/4 tsp salt

Directions: Place everything in a food processor and blend!  Press into a parchment lined 8 x 8 pan and place in the fridge for 30 min or more to solidify.  Cut into squares of your choice (I keep mine about 1 in x 1 in) and enjoy!

Let me know if you enjoy them yourself!

What is your favorite quick fix snack?  

xoxo

Alyssa

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 30, 2013 4:51 pm

    This is SO easy! Love the addition of coconut. Your recipes rock 🙂

  2. morgan permalink
    October 2, 2013 5:28 pm

    Mine didn’t form. They crumbled like sand anytime I tried to cut them. Any suggestions?

    • October 2, 2013 6:10 pm

      Morgan, mine were pretty crumbly too, but I was very careful in cutting them so I could photograph them. A couple of things you can try: 1) Freeze them for longer than recommended so they have time to set; 2) Try soaking the cashews for about 2 hrs in water first so they form more of a butter rather than just chopping up; 3) Add a few more dates; or 4) Add coconut butter instead of shredded coconut. I hope one of these suggestions works for you!

"Musings" Welcome!

