Skip to content

Long Distance

March 20, 2013

How did I ever train for a marathon on my own before!?!  Running has become so monotonous (long distance) and I miss the social aspect and competitiveness of CrossFit.  Has CrossFit ruined me?!?!  Or opened my eyes to alternate possibilities?? 🙂 What do you think??

I took Beau with me for a bit of company for the first 4 miles or so and I worked on my patience 🙂 Beau isn’t the most understanding when it comes to exercise.  Smells get in the way for him…in fact, yesterday on our run he managed to roll in poop…nice.  I was dead after the run!

I don’t look very happy, do I?!  I was beat!  Luckily the weather was good enough for me to go in short sleeves 🙂

I showered and stretched and grabbed something for lunch.

Leftover Gumbolaya on a bed of spinach with some sweet potato hash browns hit the spot!

This was very good.  The gumbolaya gets better with time to marinate!

Hubby and I ran some errands and picked up some groceries.  Question:  Do you buy regular or organic produce or a mix of both?  I can’t believe how much money I spend on groceries!  I wish organic produce was more affordable 😦

When we got back, I was famished, so I made a quick snack.

Three ham roll-ups with guacamole inside, and on the side…

Grapes with some dates and almond butter!  I ended up having 2 more dates…I’m addicted 😦

Then we prepped for the going away party we hosted!  It felt like a very productive day 🙂

What did you do today??

xoxo

Alyssa

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 21, 2013 3:06 am

    I tried really good dates when I was in Palm Springs, and have been craving them ever since! Nature’s candy 🙂

  2. March 21, 2013 12:46 pm

    I know what you mean about getting bored with distance. I have to have really good tunes for long runs and I try to run new routes that I’m not familiar with to mix things up. As far as organic produce goes… I try to make an effort to buy it but I don’t stress too much if I can’t buy certain things because they’re so expensive. That’s one more reason that I love Costco, most of their produce is organic and it’s always a good deal.

    • March 21, 2013 1:42 pm

      I miss Costco so badly! Sam’s (our only bulk option) just doesn’t have the organic selection or quality of produce like Costco did…some day I will be near my favorite store again!

"Musings" Welcome!

