Skip to content

On The Go!

March 10, 2013

This morning, my body thanked me for a wonderful night of sleep!  I think I slept 8.5 hrs or maybe more!  I chowed down on a banana with almond butter and coffee before heading to CrossFit with Hubby and our friend Eric.

CrossFit was great and tough!  CCF offers a free Community Workout the 1st Saturday of every month.  You can attend by RSVPing to the address on the webpage and they’ll reserve you a spot!

WOD

4 min AMRAP

3 burpees

3 KB swings (#26)

2-3 min rest

10 min AMRAP

10 Deadlifts

8 Hang Cleans

6 Push Press (used #55 for all 3)

My shouldre pain subsided a bit today and that was good!  I wasn’t sure if I would have been able to get through the push press portion of the workout.  It requires a lot of patience for me to get through these workouts with Oly Lifts because my legs are much stronger than my upper body.  I go easier on the leg portions so I can use the same bar for the upper body portions.  I’m slowly getting stronger!

Then, we went home to quickly change and meet our friends Rebecca and Bryan at the Schuster Center to celebrate their 10 year anniversary!  We got a neat backstage tour and then went to Uno’s across the street for lunch. Check out these neat photos!

photo 2-1 copy

Us on stage!  Thanks Bryan for the hand shot 🙂

photo 3-2 copy

We enjoyed hearing all of the information they had to share with us.  Very neat custom features in the theater!

photo 4-1 copy

The starry night sky at the top of the theater is supposed to resemble the night sky the night before the Wright Brothers made their first flight.  It was mesmorizing.

photo 5 copy

Then we got a tour of  actors and actresses backstage quarters.  They have some pretty neat traditions for the traveling Broadway shows!

photo 1-1

I don’t know if you can read that, but during the 4 week span that Wicked was playing at the Schuster Center, they had to do 550 loads of laundry to wash all of the costumes.  NUTS!

photo 2-1

And every traveling Broadway show gets to leave its own mural on the walls in the cast and crew area.  I particularly liked this one from the Lion King 🙂

photo 3-2

Happy 10th Birthday Schuster Center!

Then we went to lunch at Uno’s.  I have to admit, I was pretty nervous about what I would be eating because I always remembered Uno’s as being a pretty typical chain restaurant with lots of unhealthy options, etc. But…

photo 4-1

CHECK IT OUT!!!!!!!  In the very back, a GF menu!  They had GF pizzas and burgers with Udi’s GF buns!  I was floored and very happy 🙂

photo 5

However, since I was staying true to the WLC dietary restrictions, I decided to come back later for a burger or pizza 🙂 I chose the Lemon Basil Salmon with 2 sides of roasted veggies and steamed broccoli.  It was very good.

Way to go Uno’s! Have you ever gone somewhere to eat expecting to be disappointed and then being utterly impressed and surprised?  Where was it?  Share with the rest of us!!

xoxo
Alyssa

No comments yet

"Musings" Welcome!

