Skip to content

The Back Up Plan

March 5, 2013

Sometimes, I like to put my ideas, thoughts, plans and goals in writing. Something about writing these down solidifies them for me…almost like writing a contract with myself :-). Well, I’m at that point in my life where Hubby and I are starting to plan for the future and the future is a scary place for me, especially without a back up plan in place.

Our front runner in terms of plans is for both of us to pursue 20 year careers in the military and be able to have our first retirement at age 42. Not too shabby, but as we all know, life happens, which is why back up plans are nice to have.

What if I fall out of love with my profession? What if I want to be a stay at home mom? What if I want to pursue my dreams sooner than later? What then? I’ve decided to out what I want in writing so I have something to keep me honest.

My Back Up Plan

– Go back to school and become a Registered Dietician or get a Masters in Nutrition Sciences

nutritionist_max600

Photo source

– Turn my blog into a money making effort offering nutrition counseling services and meal planning services

i_love_blogging1

Photo source

– Get my Personal and Group Fitness Certifications along with CrossFit certs and Yoga Teacher certs

crossfit-1

Photo source

– Be employed through a local fitness center as a health and wellness counselor

lifetime_preview

Photo source

– Have a schedule flexible enough to spend time with my children

workingmoms

Photo source

– Be the next Jillian Michaels 😉

jillian2

Photo source

Although this plan would probably take a while to come to fruition and may certainly result in a drop in pay, I think I could be successful in these ventures.  What is your back up plan?

I tried a new snack today!  I highly recommend it 🙂

photo-1

The photo does not do it justice, but it was half an avocado (Hubs had the other half) topped with lime juice, smoked paprika, fresh thyme, roasted garlic and bacon crumbles.  Holy yum!

CrossFit today looked fun and challenging per the usual!

WOD

3 position snatch (do three times high hang, above the knee, floor) – 5 sets @ 75-85% 1RM

 6 rounds

5 deadlift

10 goblet squats

20 lateral jumps

Rest 1:30

However, I did not go 😦 I left work with all good intentions, but several things combined to equal a failed attempt.

#1 My eyes have been itchy as HELL!  Not the whole eye, but right along the upper lid lash line.  Every day (or almost) I get this insane urge to scratch on all sides of the lash line at the same time, right around lunch.  I’ve tried switching make-up and wearing glasses, but because the symptoms don’t start up every day, I haven’t been able to pinpoint the exact issue.  So, I Googled like any novice self-diagnosing “wannabe” doctor would and guess what I found?

“Itchy, irritated eyelids at the point where the lid and eyelash meet is characteristic of a skin condition called blepharitis. People who have dandruff, oily skin or dry eyes are prone to blepharitis, according to the University of Michigan Kellogg Eye Center. Blepharitis can result in minor itching and inflammation, but it can also be quite serious, affecting the cornea and other parts of the eye.”
Read more: http://www.livestrong.com/article/169308-itchy-eyelash-follicles/#ixzz2M3wV1b9R

fotolia_3392766_XS

Photo source

I don’t notice this disgusting dandruff they are referencing, but all other symptoms are present.  I’ve got an appointment for Thursday and can hopefully get to the bottom of this.  Anyways, the itchiness resulted me pulling my contacts out while driving and throwing them out the window…I was essentially driving somewhat blind.

#2 Torrential Downpours.  The state of Ohio is one of the worst places for weather I’ve ever seen!  The rain was terrible and the other drivers on the highway were equally terrible.  This resulted in me running way behind schedule.

#3 Emotional Meltdown on the Highway.  The combination of the above factors resulted in this one.  By this point, I was utterly mortified to show my blind face at the box and decided to head home and tackle the challenge in the morning. Have you ever had a meltdown resulting from a combination of silly things?

My wonderful and patient husband was here to greet me with a warm compress, PJs and a turned down bed…oh, and allergy meds.  He proceeded to let me decompress and nap while he made an amazing dinner.  Sometimes I forget how lucky I am…thank goodness for meltdowns to remind me 🙂

And dinner was…

It may not look gorgeous, but it tasted amazing 🙂 Great job, Hubs!  We got the recipe from the one and only Wellness Mama!

Served with Roasted Broccoli.  Hubs makes the best roasted brocc…perfectly salted, crispy and delicious!

Keep your eyes peeled for a guest post recipe that I’m putting together for FitKit!  I’ll let you know when it is up and running 🙂 Where do you look for recipe inspiration?  I look to other and more experienced food bloggers and then run with their ideas and create something of my own.

xoxo

Alyssa

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Amanda permalink
    March 5, 2013 2:38 pm

    I have that issue with my eyes a lot, booo. Also that avocado thing sounds great! I love avocado so much, though.

    • March 5, 2013 4:16 pm

      I feel your pain!! My eyes drive me nuts! Allergy mess seem to help. The avocado was yummmmmm!!

  2. March 5, 2013 3:02 pm

    That avocado is an awesome idea! Love paprikA:)

  3. Carol permalink
    March 8, 2013 4:46 pm

    i have found a cure for Blepharitis by my self, and been signed off by the hospital,
    over 2 years my eyes have been so bad, but now i am free of this awful condition
    and my eyes are perfect. i just thaught i would share it with some one.
    cheers Carol.

    • March 8, 2013 6:08 pm

      What is the cure, Carol? I found out that I don’t have it, just severe allergies in my eyes! Zyrtec is working now 🙂

    • March 9, 2013 1:10 am

      Thanks, Carol!! Turns out I just have allergies! What was your solution??

"Musings" Welcome!

