Skip to content

WLC Day 6 and GIVEAWAY WINNERS!!

February 28, 2013

I’ve been charging through this challenge!  I’m really enjoying it and feeling GREAT!  Eating well, sleeping well, working out hard and writing all about it.  Life is good 🙂

Friday morning, we woke up to a WONDERFUL surprise!

It may not be a snow day, but I’ll take an ice storm delay ANY day!  I woke up at 7:30 (after I woke up at 4:20 and checked my phone for the delay), wrote some blog material, rowed 3000m, woke up hubby and made us breakfast and then drove to work and got there an hour later.  My usual commute is 10 minutes 🙂

I worked hard and cranked out lots of material.  At lunch, I moved to the break room and ate my leftovers while reading my book.

At 5, I joyfully changed into my CrossFit workout gear and raced to the gym for a KILLER workout!  This was super painful, but a wonderful workout.

WOD

6 min AMRAP

5 pull ups

15 burpees (I made it through 4 rounds and 15 reps)

6 min rest

6 min AMRAP

10 chest to ground push ups

20 KB swings (I used 26 lbs and made it through 5 rounds)

6 min rest

6 min AMRAP

10 shoulder to OH presses (45 lbs)

15 air squats

20 DUs (I made it through 5 rounds and 20 reps)

Phew!  I was beat!  But I loved every minute of it.  I’m glad to have this as a part of my Friday night routine!  My hands were less than enthused though…

So were my arms…holy jump rope whip marks!

Afterwards, Hubby asked me to swing by Earthfare to pick up some coconut water, cucumber and lime for him to make juice with.

Then I rushed home and we went to dinner at Texas Roadhouse with friends.  I didn’t get my meal photographed, but I got the 6 oz sirloin with a sweet potato and steamed veggies.  Be sure to ask for Gluten Free when you go and they’ll prepare your dish without seasoning.  I ate it all but the sweet potato.  I had a few bites because I’m trying to cut back on those starchy veggies!  Back home we went to indulge in some Downton 🙂 Loving this show!  Hubby asked me to make him a special drink, so I whipped up this concoction!

Blood Orange Delight

– 2 oz dry gin

– 1 oz sour mix

– 1 oz Kinky Liqueur (blood orange liqueur)

– 1 oz orange juice

Directions: Combine over ice, stir and serve!  He liked it, but would have preferred it without the gin 🙂  I couldn’t taste it, obviously!

How was your day today?  Do anything exciting?  And finally…what is your FAVORITE way to spend your Friday nights?

And A HUGE Congratulations to the 9 winners of the magazine giveaway!!!  Please email me with your First and Last Name, Email Address, and the name of the magazine you want your free subscription for by Monday!!

– Shel

– Dani

– Jill

– Sunnie @ Modern Girl Nutrition

– Lissi

– Annie @ What’s Annie Making

– Stephanie

– Janet

– Emily

Congrats again!

xoxo

Alyssa

12 Comments leave one →
  1. Amanda permalink
    February 28, 2013 8:40 pm

    That taco meat with stewed apples and sweet potatoes sounds really good! My favorite way to spend Fridays is …. doing nothing 🙂

    • March 1, 2013 3:26 am

      Amanda, it was delicious! And I’m right there with you on Fridays…sweatpants, wine and all my favorite shows 😉

  2. realfoodkatiesway permalink
    March 1, 2013 2:33 am

    OUCH!!!! Your hands look painful!

    • March 1, 2013 3:27 am

      They weren’t actually so bad 🙂 It was like dead skin falling off. If it had ripped through the skin…THAT would have been bad!

  3. March 1, 2013 8:08 am

    Ouch, I was thinking about CrossFit but that looks ouchy! I love unwinding on Fridays, just curling up and watching some TV after a long week 😛

    Thank you for the giveaway!

  4. March 1, 2013 1:09 pm

    Oooh girl! Looks like you might need some lifting gloves. And that drink looks to die for! I’m loving blood orange season right now so this is right up my alley.

    • March 1, 2013 1:52 pm

      I’ve toyed with the idea but no one else at my box wears them and they all say that your hands toughen up and this stops happening…I’m waiting for that to happen! I love blood oranges as well 🙂

  5. March 1, 2013 3:14 pm

    Yay for delays!! 🙂

    At first I wasn’t quite sure how the apples and sweet potatoes with the taco meat sounded, but honestly I am now really intrigued. I am totally thinking that the spicy and sweet combination would be quite tasty! I will have to give it a try, but use vegetarian meat crumbles, tempeh, or soyrizo!

    • March 1, 2013 3:16 pm

      It would taste fab with the soyrizo 🙂 I love spicy, sweet and salty combinations…best of every flavor profile!

  6. March 1, 2013 3:59 pm

    stewed apples and sweet potatoes?! that sounds amazing! my hands have been looking like that lately with weight lifting, so hot lol

    • March 1, 2013 4:17 pm

      I read a blog from another CF girl that said, “I’ve accepted my hands will never be soft again, and I will also never trust a man with hands softer than mine” 😉 I died laughing!

"Musings" Welcome!

