Skip to content

Roasted Root Veggies and Cauliflower Rice

February 26, 2013

These are two staples in my household!  I think I make both of these things weekly to have on hand and to pair with meals.  Also, keep in mind, you can use almost any root veggie and substitute them into this recipe.

Paleo Cauliflower Rice

– 1 head cauliflower

– 1 onion, diced

– 3 cloves garlic, chopped

– 5 strips bacon, sliced

– 1 Tbsp EVOO

– 1 Tbsp grass-fed butter

Directions:  Dice onion and garlic and slice bacon into 1/4 inch pieces.  Heat EVOO in a large saute pan to medium heat.  Once oil is heated, add in bacon to brown.  Once bacon is browned, remove from pan, and allow it to cool on a paper towel lined plate.  Next, add your onion. Saute until translucent (usually 5 min or so).  Meanwhile, cut up your cauliflower and add it to your food processor.  Pulse your food processor until the cauliflower resembles the texture of rice.  Set aside until read to add to your pan.  Next, add your garlic to your onions.  Saute for another minute and then add in cauliflower and butter.  Toss until warmed and combined.  Add in bacon and stir to combine.  Serve while warm!  You can also freeze this mixture and it will keep for a while and it’s easy to reheat!

Yum 🙂  But, if that doesn’t suit your fancy, then perhaps these will??? 😉

I love roasted root veggies and funny enough, parsnips are one of my absolute favorite!  If you’ve never had roasted parsnips, you’ve never lived.  MAKE THESE NOW!!!!

Paleo Roasted Root Veggies

– 2 Tbsp EVOO

– 1 bunch parsnips, peeled, and quartered

– 2 cups baby carrots

– 1 red onion, large diced

– 3 sweet potatos, scrubbed and chopped in large pieces

– Salt and Pepper to taste

– 3 cloves garlic, chopped

– 2 tsp thyme

Directions:  Preheat your oven to 450 degrees and line your baking sheet with foil.  I always use a baking sheet because my veggies seem to cook more quickly and evenly.  Wash, chop and prep all of your veggies.  Toss in EVOO, garlic and S&P. Bake for 35-40 min…check them for a golden brown color.  Top with thyme and toss to combine.  These will last in the fridge for a week or two easy!  I prefer to eat them piping hot 🙂

Excuse me, I just drooled a little bit 🙂  ENJOY!!!

What are some of your favorite meal staples?  Anything that you can’t live without?  Do share!  And today is the last day for the magazine giveaway!

xoxo

Alyssa

6 Comments leave one →
  1. February 27, 2013 7:22 am

    I tried cauliflower rice for the first time last week – I was impressed! I’m going to have to try your method though, it looks even better 😛

    Staples for me are frittatas of any kind, and baked sweet potatos. Getting hungry just thinking about them!

    • February 27, 2013 10:28 am

      Glad you liked it!! What method did you use? I hear ya on sweet potatoes!

      • February 27, 2013 12:56 pm

        I kind of winged it – I steamed some cauliflower and mashed it up! Worked well when paired with Chicken Curry, but you’re looks like it could be a meal in itself.

        The problem is I only have a hand blender atm so things get messy quickly, I need to get a food processor!

      • February 27, 2013 3:10 pm

        I highly recommend getting a food processor! You’re a champ for using a hand blender! The Ninja is a less expensive but very efficient food processing option. Great for things you need to pulse. If you’re going to make nut butters, I swear by my Cuisinart Food Processor (think I have a 7 or 10 cup). I have a VitaMix too, but I prefer that for smoothies, soups, sauces, etc. It is a pain to clean after making a nut butter, but perhaps I should give it another shot 🙂

  2. February 27, 2013 1:53 pm

    This looks so good! I’ve seen cauliflower rice before but never made it myself. Then you go and add bacon to it – sold!!!

"Musings" Welcome!

