Skip to content

Turkey and Kale Meatballs

February 14, 2013

Ummm…YUM!

So, I’ve been playing with some new ideas for the blog (one being photo editing options!!) and am testing them on you all 🙂 Let me know what you think of them (hint, I’m talking about the photo editing with text!)

Before I dive into this delicious recipe (thank you Multiply Delicious for the inspiration) let’s review the day!

I started my day with a 6 mile tempo run.  What is a tempo run?  Well, in short, it is a kick-ass treadmill workout (you can also do it outside, but treadmills keep you honest) to work on your endurance and speed all in one.  Each week, I try to bump up my starting speed by a tenth.  Today my starting speed was 7.9 mph (7:45 pace roughly) and every .5 miles, I up the speed by another tenth of mph.  On the final mile, I up the speed every quarter mile, mostly because I just want to be done!  Every Monday I dread this workout, but once I’m done, I’m so happy I did it.

To recreate this workout, start at a moderate speed for yourself (and pick a distance that you find to be challenging but doable) and increase every half mile.  Be sure you get a really pumped up playlist to accompany your run!  Today I listened to:

Katy Perry:  Firework

Owl City and Carly Rae Jepsen:  Good Time

Kesha:  Tik Tok

Of Monsters and Men:  Little Talks

Katy Perry:  Teenage Dreams

Pink:  Blow Me One Last Time

Jason DeRulo:  It Girl

These jams kept me running and singing the whole time!

Today was also one of those days that I could have used an extra 2 hours at work.  The day just flew by!  Don’t you hate it when you wish you had more time and the time moves just too quickly?  It goes for the opposite as well…when you just want work to end and it keeps dragging by!!

Anywho, these turkey and kale meatballs were the perfect protein to round out my day.

Turkey and Kale Meatballs

–       1 lb lean ground turkey

–       1 onion, chopped

–       1 bunch kale, steamed and drained

–       2 eggs

–       3 cloves garlic, chopped

–       2 tbsp rosemary, chopped

–       salt and pepper to taste

–       EVOO for browning meatballs

 

Directions:   After steaming your kale, be sure you squeeze out all of the excess water.   Next, mix your turkey, kale, onion, eggs, garlic, rosemary and S & P.  Form into several medium sized meatballs.  Heat EVOO in a large saute pan.  Add enough meatballs so they each have room to be turned and browned.  Cook until browned on each size and spongy to the touch.  Enjoy!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 14, 2013 2:42 am

    Yum!!

  2. February 16, 2013 4:42 am

    These are so pretty and sound amazing! I would definitely add them to my soups- yum!

    • February 16, 2013 10:32 pm

      That would be a great idea for the meatballs! Let me know if you try them in soup 🙂

"Musings" Welcome!

