Skip to content

The Best Homemade Dinner We’ve Ever Had

January 30, 2013

Hands down, there is nothing better than a homemade roast chicken!  Super succulent, savory and satisfying (can we say consonance??).

IMG_6405

Starting photo…

IMG_6406

Finished product!  What a “bute”!

This chicken was unreal.  In fact, I ate about my body weight in chicken and veggies!

IMG_6414

Piled a mile high!

I followed Giada’s recipe for Garlic Lemon Roast Chicken and Roasted Root Vegetables.  The recipe and work time look daunting, but press through!  You’ll thank yourself 🙂

IMG_6416

On the side, greens served with a homemade “ranch” dressing!  It was such a simple creation:

Homemade Ranch Dressing

– 1 cup sour cream

– 1 tbsp garlic salt

– 1/2 tbsp pepper

– 1/2 tbsp dried parsley

– 4 tbsp skim milk (or unsweetened original non-dairy milk)

Directions:  Combine and whisk!

I normally don’t eat ranch, but we had this container of sour cream that just wouldn’t go away, so voila!  Ranch dressing 🙂

I also had a little project of hemming Beau’s new coat 🙂  We bought this for $3 at the Christmas Tree Shoppes and Beau loved it, but it was way too small.  I added red lengthening strips on either side as a quick fix,

IMG_6407

Handsom lil’ guy!

IMG_6410

“Look at how still I can be, Dad!!  Can I have the treat…now??”

IMG_6412

Later, Hubs caught me red handed!!  Not, I was tasting the homemade ranch from above 🙂 But I really look like I’m enjoying it!

On a more sad note, I had a realization today in my hot yoga class.  I’ve been a pretty hard core yogi for the last 5 years.  But in the last year, I really started to dwindle my attendance.  I just really wasn’t into it like I had been in the past.  So yesterday, amidst the ridiculous amount of sweat pouring out of my body, I realized that I’m really not in love with hot yoga anymore.  I think that hot vinyasa would have my interest still, but there really is nothing like that available when I need it.  So, I’ve decided that hot yoga won’t be a permanent fixture on my schedule anymore.  I’ll go if I feel like it, but I won’t force myself to go if I’m not dying to sweat.  I’d rather take Mr. Beaus beaus for a long walk instead 🙂  Have you ever fallen out of love with a sport?  How did you come to realize it?  How did you handle it?

Have you ever made roasted chicken at home?  If not, give that recipe a try!  This will become a recurring meal in our house!  (oh and did I mention we have enough leftover for lunch every day this week??)

4 Comments leave one →
  1. realfoodkatiesway permalink
    February 1, 2013 12:25 pm

    I’m sorry to hear about your yoga situation…Give yourself some time and I’m sure you will crave it again…

    I fell out of love with ZUMBA last year and have had no desire to do it since…

    On the yoga front, I genuinely love it…It is therapy for me…This week I’ve missed every single one of my classes because I’ve been working late 😦 But I’m definitely catching tomorrow morning’s class!

    I made my first bird for thanksgiving in 2012 and it was awesome! I don’t eat it but everyone else ranted and raved!

    Happy weekend!

    • February 1, 2013 11:46 pm

      Thanks, Katie 🙂 I plan to take a well deserved yoga break and hope to fall in love with it again!! I used to think of it as my therapy too and it has become a hassle…not what it should be.

  2. February 6, 2013 12:42 am

    I love Giada’s recipes! This chicken looks like no exception- great job!

"Musings" Welcome!

