Skip to content

Kale Superfood Salad

January 30, 2013

Have any of you had that Kale Superfood Salad from Whole Foods?  They usually have it on their lunch buffet rotation and I can’t get enough of it!  Well, we don’t have a Whole Foods in Dayton (bummer), so I’ve decided to recreate it myself.  This is a variation of it, that’s for sure, but still equally delicious!

IMG_6398

I assembled my ingredients first.  Meanwhile, Hubby was hard at work as well:

IMG_6399

He was making homemade jerky!  I can’t eat much jerky because soy sauce is a very popular ingredient, but Hubby’s jerky is GF!  It is delish!

IMG_6400

Into the dehydrator it goes!  8 hrs later, it will be ready to chow down on.

IMG_6401

First, I washed and tore all of my kale into bite sized pieces.

IMG_6402

Beautiful, curly cruciferous veggie 🙂

And then, I whipped up my dressing…I didn’t measure anything, I just eyeballed the proportions:

Superfood Dressing

– Juice of two lemons

– Apple Cider vinegar (I used Bragg’s)

– Flax Oil

– Dijon Mustard

– Honey

– Dill

– Thyme

**Whisk it all together!**

Then I added in the remainder of my ingredients to my salad:

Kale Superfood Salad

– Cherry tomatoes

– Sliced baby bella mushrooms

– Sprouts

– Cashews

– Golden raisins

– Avocado

– Cooked lentils

**Toss with above dressing to combine and enjoy!**

IMG_6404

Delicious!  We had this with soup for lunch 🙂

So I am exhausted from hot yoga this morning, and during the class I had a bit of an epiphany…I don’t enjoy hot yoga all that much and I would have rather been taking Beau for a walk in the sunshine or just doing my own stretching routine at home.  What are your thoughts on yoga and hot yoga?  Do you think they are really that beneficial?  Or do you think there are other exercises that are just as beneficial but perhaps less time consuming?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 30, 2013 9:24 pm

    This salad looks so beautiful and healthy! Perfect for lunches. I had to take a second look at the recipe because the lentils almost looked like barley. Yummm!

    • January 30, 2013 9:45 pm

      No, no barley! Haha that would be the ultimate irony 🙂 This salad is super yummy and filling. You’d love it!

Trackbacks

  1. My Daily Eats « Gluten Free Muse

"Musings" Welcome!

