Skip to content

Nice and Easy

January 27, 2013

Today has been lovely!  Nothing crazy going on, just a nice and easy day.  Best part??  I woke up, WITHOUT MY ALARM, at 7AM!!  This NEVER happens on the weekends.  This means I’m finally getting used to Ohio’s dark mornings!  Woohoo!

First things first:  Drop off Princess Fiona at the dealership for some routine maintenance (is it a big deal that my driver’s seatbelt WON’T unbuckle??)

2003_honda_element_ex_blue_in_royal_palm_beach_florida_96747564102718611

This is Princess Fiona if you were wondering.  How did she get the name?  She is hideous on the outside, but beautiful on the inside!  She is so functional, I love her…but she is getting a little old.

Next up?  Breakfast!  Hubby treated me to an American with soy at our Kroger Starbucks today.  I have decreased my coffee intake to once a week.  I’m not a huge fan of my homemade coffee…not sure if I just stink at brewing it or what, but I’d rather treat myself to a Starbucks or Dunkin Donuts each week.  Also, we have NO conveniently located standalone Starbucks here in Dayton, so I never pass one on my way to or from work.  It has seriously helped with the spontaneous coffee buys!

So what was for brekkie?

IMG_6382

Another Two Ingredient Pancake!  This one I topped with fresh fruit and Maranatha Coconut Butter.  I’m pretty sure this is a newer product of theirs as I’ve never seen it before in the grocery store.  At first, I wasn’t a fan.  For some reason, this butter separates and the oil goes to the top and the thicker part settles to the bottom. So if you scrape it out with a spoon, all you get is oil.  If you microwave it for a minute, you can stir up the bottom and get that frosting-like coconut butter taste.  I was almost disappointed!!

IMG_6379

We also had some hardboiled eggs with pesto on top 🙂 So good!

IMG_6383

How many times do I have to tell you that I love photographing in natural light??  EVERY TIME I GET THE CHANCE!!  It makes SUCH a difference!

IMG_6381

Yum!  Perfect breakfast.  And to make it even more special, I brought out the nut butter selection spread!

IMG_6384

Justin’s, always a favorite; Wild Squirrel, a new try (this one was alright, not one I’ll buy again), and my Justin’s nut butter remake!  Hubby said that my version is his favorite of the three!  Woohoo!

IMG_6385

Hubby being studious.

IMG_6387

Lover boy curled up staying warm 🙂 I love my two boys so much!

While digesting my food, I also was productive and rinsed and chopped fruit for the week.

IMG_6388

Those colors are unreal!

After breakfast, I took Beaubie for a 4 mile run through the snow.  He LOVES running in the snow!  It was really refreshing to get out there in that 25 degree weather 🙂

Next up, shooting at the gun range??  Yea, I agreed to it.  I hate guns, but being in the military, this is something I’m going to have to get used to.  I don’t mind shooting for my military duty, but for fun??  Meh, not interested.  On our way to the range, we found out it was a 90 minute wait…change of plans!  Instead, we swung by downtown and bought tickets to the Mary Poppins play coming to town!  Haha, quite the change!

photo 3

Check this place out.  Would you think you were in Dayton, Ohio if you passed this place?  I’d never seen it before and was in awe!

We also swung by a huge thrift store to drop off some of our unwanted goods.  We also took time to have some fun inside 🙂

photo 1 copy 2

Hubby wanted so badly to buy this chair…$19.99!  I said no, so he decided to make the most of it in the store 🙂

photo 4 copy

I also found some glasses that my grandmother has!  It was very reminiscent to see these guys 🙂 Excited for our upcoming visit!

After the thrift store, our day continued to be spontaneous.  We went to Harbor Freight to pick up a table saw with glass cutting blade to make wine bottle candles!  Then, we stopped by The Christmas Tree Shoppes…have you ever been in one?  They are AWESOME!  Look what I found there…

photo 2 copy 2

These are normally $6 a pop!  So I snagged a Mighty Maple to take home 🙂

When we finally got home, we were starving!  With a cold day lingering, Hubby and I thought that grilled cheese with tomato soup sounded amazing.  2 orders, coming up!

IMG_6393

I used Pacific Brand Low Sodium Tomato Soup and reheated it on the stove.  Hubby had Rye grilled cheese and I used up the remainder of my GF bread to make a grilled cheese, turkey, spinach and jam sandwich.  It was killer 🙂

IMG_6390

Scrumptious.  Since we ended up eating around 4:30, we decided to call it a Senior Citizen Dinner 🙂 Popcorn for dessert!

So did any of you catch the Inauguration?

beyonce-obama-inauguration-lip-sync-workplace-ecards-someecards

I couldn’t stop laughing when I saw this 🙂 What were your thoughts on her lip syncing?  Did you find it tacky or tactful?

Hope you’re enjoying your weekend!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. realfoodkatiesway permalink
    January 28, 2013 11:30 pm

    Yup, you and I are going to get along just fine!

    1) I CANNOT GET ENOUGH NATURAL LIGHT when taking pictures!! There really is no comparison…The sad part is I have NO natural light in my kitchen! In our cottage I have MORE natural light but it’s still pathetic

    2) I am a big huge Mary Poppins FREAK! I met her at Disney World this past November and my husband STILL bugs me that it was as if I met Ben Affleck with his shirt off…Like in Argo 😉 I was a little out of control. In fact he put our canon on Sports mode while I talked with her…Just so he could catch every second 😉

    3) I am a nut butter FREAK. It’s really a shame because where I am from, we don’t get NEAR the selection as the States! There are so many kinds I want to try but I refuse to pay shipping from so many sites 😦

    4) I would have bought 10 of those PB & Co peanut butters…My favorite is Bees Knees, Jeff’s favorite is Cinnamon Swirl. Dark and White chocolate are nice to have for my crispy rice squares (sans marshmallows) and things like that.

    OK BYE!

"Musings" Welcome!

