Skip to content

Olive, An Urban Dive

January 23, 2013

Today, Hubs and I met our friends, David and Amanda, at Olive, An Urban Dive.  I’ve been dying to try this place, and it did not disappoint!  I ordered the Italian Socca (pronounced “soak-uh”…I made the mistake of calling it “sock-uh”).  It was fab!

photo-1

I ordered the sweet potato fries on the side, and to keep them GF, they pan fry them rather than using the shared fryer.  I was floored at the dedication to keeping the food GF!  They also cater to Paleo, Vegan and Vegetarian dietary preferences.  And…when I called, they ASKED if I had any dietary needs!!!!  Never do I get that asked of me!  Will certainly return 🙂 Oh, and you can bring your own alcoholic beverages as well to enjoy.  Can’t wait to try it again!

photo 5

Today looked like this!  Oh, and the high tomorrow is 7 degrees???  Nuts. I’ve never been so cold!

I also took a trip to Home Goods and spotted some nice finds!

photo 4

Cool dog couch!  Didn’t buy it, but was very intrigued 🙂

But I did buy this!

IMG_6343

Blueberry Lemon.  Quite delish.  I drank it with one of these…

IMG_6344

I bought these on Amazon.  I realized that I tend to drink more water at restaurants when I’m drinking from a straw.  Thought we’d give it a try!  Hubby has been blowing bubbles in his drinks all night…I’m beginning to regret this purchase!

And for dinner?

IMG_6346

Brown rice with thyme and artichoke hearts, broiled salmon and roasted broccoli.  Simple, easy and a win every time!

Have you purchased any neat items lately?  Anything that you can’t live without?  Do share, I’m always looking for great finds!

11 Comments leave one →
  1. January 24, 2013 5:04 am

    I’m not sure if you were a beer drinker before, but if you were , there is good news. They are now making gluten free beer. Follow my blog to find out more information

    • January 24, 2013 2:01 pm

      I’ll check those out, but I’m a bit skeptical! I’ve seen Omission Ale and I recall it saying it was a Wheat Beer…are you sure it’s a GF one?

  2. March 1, 2013 10:04 pm

    thanks so much for the shout out for Olive!!!

  3. ontario golf permalink
    April 6, 2013 6:14 am

    We absolutely love your blog and find almost all of your post’s to be exactly I’m
    looking for. can you offer guest writers to write content for you?
    I wouldn’t mind creating a post or elaborating on some of the subjects you write related to here. Again, awesome site!

  4. July 29, 2013 9:15 pm

    When I originally commented I clicked the “Notify me when new comments are added” checkbox
    and now each time a comment is added I get several e-mails with the same comment.
    Is there any way you can remove me from that
    service? Thanks a lot!

"Musings" Welcome!

