Skip to content

“Supposed To Be” Salmon Burgers

January 17, 2013

Tonight’s dinner was funny 🙂  We’ve been following recipes out of the Paleo Cookbook, and some of them just don’t quite work out the way they may have been envisioned.  These Salmon Burgers for example…they turn out more like a gooey paste and forming them into patties is virtually impossible!  It’s about as simple as nailing jello to the wall.  Case in point…

JelloPhoto courtesy of Google Images
Doesn’t look so easy does it??  Hence, the salmon soufflé!

IMG_6307

It wasn’t so bad with the ketchup for moisture, but rest assured, we won’t be making this recipe again!  The sweet potato wedges were obviously a hit…and I had to cut myself off after I’m sure I ate the equivalent of 5 potatoes in wedges.  Oops.

We also had a broccoli salad (with the catchy name of “Raving Rapini”).  It was pretty good, but I felt it was missing something.

IMG_6304

Steamed broccoli, Craisins  golden raisins (I was eating these by the handful!!! So yummy!!), cashews, basil, flax oil, dill, and lemon juice.  Tossed to perfection.

IMG_6305

I particularly liked all of the colors in the salad.  Oh I almost forgot!! There were sundried tomatoes too!  Nice combo 🙂

Do you ever feel like your meal combos are lacking?  Lately, I’ve felt like I’m trying too hard to be creative.  Sometimes keeping it simple is the best thing to do.  What do you do when you’re in a meal rut?  What are your go to meal items?

IMG_6306

That ketchup sure looks pretty!

Oh, and on another note, I’ve GOT to make these recipes!  Check out Elana’s Pantry for her Paleo Samoas (OMG…this could be the death of me!!) and Tina’s Paleo Granola!  Will be making this this weekend…

Oh and for anyone in the Dayton area looking for an awesome hot yoga studio, I’m totally hooked on Hot Yoga and Wellness Center!  They’ve got a great assortment of classes and the heat is INSANE!  I leave looking like a raisin week after week 🙂

What are your upcoming long weekend plans??

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 18, 2013 2:57 am

    That picture is too funny! I love salmon, any way, shape, or form:)

    • January 18, 2013 2:59 am

      I found it pretty hysterical as well! And I’m a salmon glutton…sashimi, smoked, or even puréed and made into a pancake…I’m a salmon girl to the core!!

  2. January 18, 2013 3:09 pm

    Doesn’t that drive you crazy? If I bake a sweet potato, I’ll eat one and be satisfied. But if I make sweet potato fries, I end up eating about 4 potatoes in one sitting! And then I wonder why I feel so stuffed…

    • January 18, 2013 3:20 pm

      Totally!! It must be the allure of the notorious “fry” shape 🙂 They are so tempting!

"Musings" Welcome!

