Skip to content

Pumping Iron

January 15, 2013

Phew!  Today was exhausting!  Not sure why, but my workout this morning was rough.  I felt lightheaded and hard of breath the entire time.  I normally do a 6 mile tempo run, but today I only ran 4.5 miles and walked another .5 at an incline.  My legs also felt like lead.  I could think of a few reasons, but I’m going to solicit your opinions too:

Image

Photo courtesy of Google images

– I did my first 90 minute Bikram Yoga session yesterday (haven’t done any Yoga for the past 3 weeks) and it got up to 106 in the room…I’ve been missing that sweat!  But I don’t think that I hydrated properly afterwards.  Oh, and my hammies felt like they were extremely OVERSTRETCHED yesterday as well.  Oops!

Image

Photo courtesy of Google images

– I went to bed with a pang of hunger.  I’ve been trying not to eat past 8PM at night because I don’t really digest my food when I sleep.  If I go to bed full, I wake up full…does that happen to anyone else?

Image

Photo courtesy of Google images

– I got new shoes yesterday!  And I ran in them for the first time this morning.  They aren’t much heavier than my old shoes (new ones are Adidas Supernovas [haven’t worn adidas running shoes in ages] and my old ones were Mizunos).

Image

Photo courtesy of Google images

– Oh, and I might have a stress fracture in my left foot.  Its been hurting me for about 5 months now, but I injured it further last Thursday doing Double Unders.  I guess it couldn’t handle the impact from straight jumping.  I got an x-ray last week, but haven’t gotten the results yet and I think my podiatry appointment is next week.  Anyways, it was fairly painful when I started (you’re probably thinking…and you’re running, why??), but then it seemed to abate.

Sooo…what do you think my problem was?? 🙂 I’m guessing a combo of all of the above.

The rest of my day I spent filing THOUSANDS (and I’m not exaggerating, Dad!) of papers that I’ve been neglecting for the past 6 months.  I made a slight dent, but not the kind of dent I was hoping for.  I am super motivated to get these papers filed though so I can manage my filing aversion properly from this point forward 🙂

I also wasn’t very hungry at all today.  I ate breakfast around 10AM (had a Jay Robb Chocolate Protein shake around 8:30AM…does anyone like Jay Robb?  I’m trying to find an egg white protein powder that doesn’t taste like eggs so I can go full Paleo.  I’m using mostly whey right now.)  And then I wasn’t hungry for lunch until about 3PM!  I had lots of water and green tea throughout the day though.

Needless to say, when I got home at 6PM, I was ready for something delicious and warm for dinner.  Lucky, Hubby was hard at work making dinner!

Image

Photo courtesy of this cutie 😉

And dinner was just what I needed…chock full of iron…flank steak!

Image

On the side, shaved brussels sprouts.  This dinner was rockin’!

Both of these recipes were from The Paleo Cookbook and fantastic.

Flank Steak with Caramelized Onions

– 1 lb flank steak

– 2 tbsp EVOO

– 2 tbsp orange juice

– 1 sweet Vidalia onion, sliced

– 2 cloves garlic, chopped

Directions:  Heat EVOO in a saute pan.  Add in onion and saute until tender.  Next add in garlic and orange juice and reduce.  Remove onions from heat.  Add in 2nd tbsp of EVOO and sear flank steak on both sides.  Reduce heat to cook through.  Remember not to overcook!

Image

Shaved Brussels Sprouts

– 3 cups brussels sprouts

– 1/4 cup cashews

– 1/4 cup sliced almonds

– 2 cloves garlic

– 1 shallot, chopped

– 2 tbsp EVOO

Directions:  Heat EVOO in saute pan.  Meanwhile, steam brussels sprouts for 12 min.  Then quickly submerge sprouts in an ice bath.  Slices sprouts and add to the EVOO.  Also add in the garlic and shallot.  Chop up the nuts and toss them into the mix.  Serve and enjoy!

This guy wanted to eat what we were eating too!

Image

Cutie 🙂

Tomorrow I’m hitting the gym early for a CrossFit circuit and hopefully playing in my first indoor soccer game of the season!  They are super late at night (unfortunately), but I’m hoping to play in as many as I can :0)  I’ve also been asked to run in the Oklahoma City Half Marathon and possibly a half Ironman.  I’m torn because I want to get started at a local CrossFit Box, but I also really want to do a triathlon before I deploy.

You CrossFitters out there, do you think I need to cut out CrossFit to train for the Tri?  Or do you think I can do both and use CrossFit as my strength/cross training?  What do you think?

Have a great night!

One Comment leave one →
  1. realfoodkatiesway permalink
    January 16, 2013 2:20 am

    I would definitely say it was a combination of those factors…I too go to bed sometimes hungry and my morning workouts are almost always rough the next day!

    I love shaved brussels!

"Musings" Welcome!

