Skip to content

Justin’s Got Nuttin’!!

January 15, 2013

I kid, I kid.  Justin’s Nut Butter is one of my absolute favorite nut butters out there.  Especially the Maple Almond Butter.  Holy schmackadoo!  That stuff is like eating cookie dough 🙂 I seriously had to stop buying it for a while because I was going through a jar a week, and at $10 a pop…I had to cut myself off.

Image

 

Photo courtesy of http://www.justins.com

However, I eventually decided that I shouldn’t withhold something as delicious and nutritious as Justin’s from my craving tummy, but perhaps I could re-create it at home??  Now, let me give my liability statement up front.  This does not taste EXACTLY like Justin’s Maple Almond Butter, but it is pretty DARN close!

Image

 

P.S. I’m loving my new MacBook Air for blogging, and iPhoto is pretty handy too 🙂  Anyone know how to compress your photos through iPhoto?  Still haven’t figured that one out!

So here is the recipe that I thought up…these are approximate measurements, so be sure to taste as you go and play with the texture as well. 

Alyssa’s Justin’s Maple Almond Butter Look-Alike 😉

– 1 lb raw almonds

– 1/2 cup coconut palm sugar (if you can find maple sugar, use that instead)

– 2 tsp sea salt

– 1/4 cup grapeseed oil

– 1 tsp maple extract (omit if you use maple sugar)

Directions: Preheat oven to 250 degrees.  Place almonds on a baking sheet and roast for 20 minutes.  Place roasted almonds into a food processor (I use my 7 qt Cuisinart and it works great) and start grinding.  Slowly add in grapeseed oil and sugar, a few tablespoons at a time.  Once fully incorporated, add in salt and maple extract.  Taste, adjust to taste, and enjoy!

Image

 

I like enjoying mine with a spoon…or on a banana…or on pretty much anything edible.

Do you enjoy nut butters?  I’m a huge fan and at times have to limit my intake 🙂 What are your favorites??

5 Comments leave one →
  1. realfoodkatiesway permalink
    January 15, 2013 12:04 pm

    Oh man I love Justin’s too…I’m not AS out of control with it as I am about Barnie butter though…That is $12/jar and I can fly through it in a week too! I just can’t justify spending that much on nut butter ALL the time…But I haven’t had it since before Christmas so I think I’ve waited long enough 😉

    I love making my own nut butters too! You have complete control over what goes in it (and what doesn’t!)

    • January 16, 2013 1:35 pm

      Sorry, you certainly did get sent to spam! Thanks for the comments, and yes, I agree…combo of factors for sure. I think I need to be nicer to my body!

    • January 16, 2013 1:38 pm

      I’ve tried Barney Butter before and I just can’t seem to get crazy about it! I think its because I’m not super crazy about peanut butter and it kind of reminds me of peanut butter? What is it you like so much about it?? I’ve never heard from a BB lover what it is that they love about it 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Comfort Food for a Cold OH Day « Gluten Free Muse
  2. Nice and Easy « Gluten Free Muse

"Musings" Welcome!

