Skip to content

Paleo Tuna Cakes…IT’S WHAT’S FOR DINNER!

October 2, 2012

Today was a lovely Ohio day!  I know people must laugh when I say that, but I have been pleasantly surprised and pleased with the weather thus far (cough cough, I know I haven’t hit winter yet!) :-P.  I woke up at 5:20AM today to hit the ground running.  MAN, was it hard to get out of bed or what!?!  On days when I have a hard time waking up, a morphed CrossFit/circuit training workout is just what I need to wake up.  I did 5 rounds for time of 15 walking lunges with 50 lbs, and then 30 double unders.  I’m not very good at double unders, but I did get 13 in a row!  Those kick my butt 🙂  After that, I begrudgingly did an elongated sprint workout:

4 miles total

.5 miles at 7.8 (7:47 pace)

1 mile at 9.3 (6:27 pace)

.5 miles at 7.5 (8:00 pace)

1 mile at 9.3 (6:27  pace)

.5 miles at 7.5 (8:00 pace)

.5 miles at 8.6 (6:58 pace)

Stick a fork in me, I’m done!

I decided to round out a healthy day, to make a healthy dinner.  Hubby did EVERYTHING except for the salad!  He did such a great job!

We had Tuna Cakes (Paleo) with an arugula, parmesan, artichoke, olive and cherry tomato salad with roasted butternut squash.

Hubby made everything perfectly!  The butternut squash was the best I’ve ever had.  Hands down, this man can cook!

Topped everything with avocado…bring on the fat!

I got the tuna cake recipe from Raf’s Kitchen.  Great job, Raf!

Pale0 Tuna Cakes

Ingredients:
Canned Tuna                                        1 can
Egg                                                           1 large
Coconut Flour                                     1 Tbsp
Almond Meal                                        1 Tbsp
Green Onion (Diced)                         1 spring
Paleo Mayo                                            1 tsp
Dijon Mustard                                       1 tsp
Dried Bell Peppers (soften in water)                2 tsp
Lemon Juice                                          1 tsp
Garlic Powder                                      1/2 tsp
Onion Powder                                      1/2 tsp
Crushed Black Pepper                       1/4 tsp
Sea Salt                                                      To taste
Cayenne Pepper                                    pinch
Tabasco sauce (Optional)                 1/2 tsp

Instructions:
1. Soak Dried bell peppers in warm water for 10 minutes to soften.
2. Mix all ingredients together and let it sit for 5 minutes to allow coconut flour to absorb some moisture.
3. Form the mixture into 3-4 patties/cakes
4. Pre heat an iron skillet and pan fry tuna cakes both sides in your choice of oil until golden brown. About 3-4 minutes per side on medium heat. (Every stove’s heat setting varies, check every few minutes to be sure.)
5. Serve with extra paleo mayo if desire. ENJOY!!!!

**I lined out the ingredients that I omitted**

And to top off the day, I got to listen to this awesome song 🙂

Does anyone know who Marky Mark is???  🙂 Answer coming next posting!

xoxo

Alyssa

11 Comments leave one →
  1. December 30, 2012 12:41 am

    mark wahlberg

  2. Tracy permalink
    May 18, 2013 4:04 pm

    What size is the can of tuna?

  3. June 3, 2013 6:37 pm

    What are all the ingredients in the salad? Looks delicious!

  4. snyder permalink
    July 3, 2013 7:17 am

    How’d he do the butternut squash?

    • July 3, 2013 10:00 am

      Roasted in the oven at 450 for 25-30 min while tossed in olive oil, salt and pepper 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Paleo Eating Austin
  2. Paleo Diet Fiber Supplements
  3. Paleo Pumpkin Soup With Sausage

"Musings" Welcome!

