Skip to content

Cincy Oktoberfest

September 27, 2012

Helllooo! Hubby and I had a splendid time this past weekend :-). My Saturday was packed! It started with an earrrrrrly morning run with my friend Dani. We met at 7am and ran along the Miami River (I think that’s the one that runs through downtown Dayton!) for about 8 miles. We hurried from there to breakfast at the 2nd street public market!

I was in such a rush, I didn’t even snap photos, but hubby and I split a gluten free crepe called Apple and Eve. Awesome! In addition, we had a gluten free arepa filled with cheese and served with a spicy thousand island and a slamming pesto cream sauce. Dang I wish I had pictures 🙂

Off to the spa I went! A hot stone massage and a glycolic facial compliments of my wonderful Colorado friends 🙂

I raced home to clean up and head to Oktoberfest with Hubby!

20120926-203545.jpg

This thing was huge!!

20120926-203623.jpg

It was super windy. Not sure if you can tell, but the wind was blowing the water horizontally!

20120926-203720.jpg

Look at all the people! Since I can’t drink beer and hubby doesn’t drink much at all, I enjoyed the beer Fest, but I didn’t have the best time of my life. We did indulge in free samples of Angry Orchard naturally gluten free cider though! So good! I was so dehydrated, I felt it after a sip!

20120926-203906.jpg

Hubby caught “mett” handed!! He was eating something called a mett. Basically a mixed meat hot dog. He enjoyed it 🙂

20120926-204017.jpg

On the side, potato pancakes 🙂 I had no food because I couldn’t certify it’s gluten freeness 😦 glad I ate on the way!

20120926-204124.jpg

Cute German accent stores

20120926-204625.jpg

This place made me wish I could have a beer! Looks so fancy!!

On the way home we stopped at Ikea for some accent pieces. Love that place!!!

Hope you all had a great weekend!

Xoxo
Alyssa

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Kasey permalink
    September 27, 2012 1:42 am

    My hometown! My parents and brother were there too. Stewart and I went last year after the AF Marathon, this year the weekends were different. Cincinnati has the second biggest Oktoberfest in the world – second only to Munich, our sister city. Having been to both, I gotta say Munich’s is more fun 🙂

    • September 27, 2012 1:54 am

      Hey Kasey! We enjoyed the Fest but I would die if I got to go to the one in Munich!! Hope you’re doing well! Hear you’re in law school?!? Best of luck!

      Have you ever run the flying pig half marathon? I’ve heard it’s really tough. Thoughts?

  2. Kat permalink
    September 27, 2012 3:09 am

    Geez you are tearing it up in Ohio! I’m so glad you have found so many cool things to do here. We need to get together again!

    • September 27, 2012 9:57 am

      I know!! Did you get our invite for the housewarming party this Saturday? Hope you can come!! Figured we’d start there and then make some plans from there 🙂

"Musings" Welcome!

