Skip to content

Geez…Has It Been Long Enough!?!

January 23, 2012

For all of you that continue to check my site or continue to subscribe in hopes that I will someday post again, I am so sorry I’ve been gone so long!  Life has gotten quite busy: working two jobs (only one salary!), training for my 2nd marathon (only 30 days left!), and taking my final two masters courses at the same time has been my priority lately.  Luckily, my master’s is almost complete and I should have a lot more time to blog!

Today, we had a delicious breakfast at The Olive Branch Restaurant in Downtown Colorado Springs.  The best part about it…THE GLUTEN FREE MENU! And I’m not talking just “our omelets are GF”, I’m talking “we have GF Belgian Waffles, Muffins, Biscuits, Granola…” and the list goes on.  Of course I got the waffles…and the muffin…and the biscuit 🙂 I couldn’t leave without trying all of their GF goodies!  In actuality, I ate 1.25 of the waffles, nibbled the corner of the muffin, pinched a piece of the biscuit and then brought the extras home.

After the delicious and nutritious breakfast (kept me full for about 7 hours) we took Beau to the most awesome dog park in town (and apparently in the top 10 in the US!), Bear Creek Dog Park.  He LOVED it!  We stayed and walked the entire park for about 45 minutes, but the 40 degree weather in combination with the 30 mph winds had set a firm expiration date on our fun.

Then I met my awesome friend Jami for a Yoga Sculpt class at Corepower and she rocked it!  Got a nice sweat and muscle sculpting session.

Tonight, I felt like something healthy but delicious, so I did something I have had yet to do…pulled out my VitaMix Cookbook!  Just throw a bunch of veggies into the blender, hit start and watch it blend and COOK away!  We chose the Tortilla Soup option and all we had to do was pick up a Gluten Free Rotisserie Chicken from Costco 🙂 (Of course, Hubby was excited about this because he could create a meal of samples)

Unfortunately, since I’ve last blogged, WordPress has reformatted their website and I have no idea how to load photos like I used to. Below are all the photos from tonight’s dinner!  10 minutes to make a delicious and whole food meal…sounds pretty good to me 🙂

ImageImageImageImageImageImage

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Carey Huyser permalink
    February 5, 2012 12:45 am

    Welcome back Alyssa!! Good luck with everything you have going on…you sure sound busy! Hey–I was getting ready to make your Orrechiete (sp?) again but I don’t see the recipe anymore? Where did it go? It’s one of my faves….Thanks!

"Musings" Welcome!

