Skip to content

I’m Baaaaaaack!!!

August 31, 2011

Hello my dearest gluten free foodies!  After a much long sabbatical (I actually think that this was the antithesis of sabbatical…those seem like they would be peaceful and intellectual; this was NOT), I am rip, roaring, ready to get back to my blogosphere! 🙂

I am currently working 2 jobs, both very demanding, living the life of a single girl because my husband is on a 6 month-ish business trip, maintaining a household that is far to large for Beau and I by ourselves, working my master’s classes, and training for an Olympic distance triathlon…I’ve been busy, and a bit stressed.

However, throughout all of this, I still find peace and calm from cooking and gluten free living 🙂  I’ve also been dabbling in a few new things (Vemma and doTERRA Essential Oils…I’ll go more into detail in later posts) and I am really excited about all these new things life has to offer!  Not to mention, Hubby and I are taking a 2 week vacay to Europe shortly…can’t wait!  Well deserved vacation 🙂

But to tide you over, a quick recipe that you won’t be able to resist!

Truffled Sweet Potato Salad

If that doesn’t have you drooling, I’m not sure what gets your goose, but this gets mine 🙂

– 5 sweet potatoes, peeled/chopped into small cubes

– 5 slices bacon

– 3 tsp EVOO

– 2 tsp maple syrup

– 2 tsp white truffle oil

– 3 tsp dried parsley

– sea salt and pepper to taste

Directions: Preheat oven to 450 degrees.  Take your bacon and line it on a foil lined baking sheet on top of a cookie cooling rack (helps the grease drip off).  Brush bacon with maple syrup and bake for 15-20 minutes or until golden brown and slightly crispy. Remove bacon from oven, let cool slightly and slice.  Toss sweet potatoes in olive oil and roast for 35 minutes or until tender and golden on the edges. Remove from oven, toss with bacon, parsley, truffle oil, and bacon. Serve while warm and delish!

Yum!

Also in this week’s news, the awesome Maggie from Rudi’s Gluten Free Bakery contacted me about hosting a giveaway!  Anyone interested in getting some gluten free hamburger and hot dog buns?? And maybe an awesome sandwich container?!?

I will select two winners on Monday, Labor Day 🙂 All I need from you to enter is the following:

– Leave a comment on your favorite burger combo (i.e. Hawaiian, Mushroom Burger, can be vegetarian/vegan of course!)

– Leave a comment on someone else’s blog letting them know about this giveaway!

– Become a fan of Rudi’s on Facebook or Twitter 🙂

Again, 2 winners will be selected on Monday!!  Good luck to you all!

Beau gives his luck to you as well (although he secretly wants the cute sandwich containers for himself!)

Gluten free dreams to you!

~Alyssa

17 Comments leave one →
  1. Mindy permalink
    August 31, 2011 11:57 pm

    nice to see you back 🙂

  2. September 1, 2011 12:00 am

    Welcome back!! You have been busy, busy!! My favorite burger combo is bison topped w/ goat chz and sauteed onions!

    • September 1, 2011 12:31 am

      Lauri, that sounds amazing! Maybe I’ll make those this weekend!!!

      Connected by DROID on Verizon Wireless

  3. September 1, 2011 6:31 am

    I like blue cheese stuffed burgers

  4. Meghan permalink
    September 1, 2011 6:32 am

    I like Rudi’s on fbMeghan Finley

  5. Tammy permalink
    September 1, 2011 7:47 pm

    Done and done. My favorite burger is teriyaki pineapple. Thank you! This would be a great birthday prize. :o)

  6. TanyaS permalink
    September 3, 2011 3:10 am

    I’ve never been a big fan of hamburgers, mostly because I don’t like condiments, but I LOVE a blackened chicken burger with lettuce tomato & mayo. Keeping it simple!

    • September 3, 2011 3:46 am

      Tanya, nothing wrong with simple foods!! That sounds fab 🙂

      Connected by DROID on Verizon Wireless

  7. amy permalink
    September 5, 2011 12:52 am

    veggie burger with dijon mustard, lots of ketchup, and tomato-yum!

  8. September 5, 2011 6:11 am

    My favorite burger combo is my sweet tater black bean burger, loaded with guac, roasted peppers + pepperjack cheese. Oh, and obviously ketchup. 🙂

    • September 5, 2011 2:23 pm

      Ashley, I knew you would post that one!! Sounds delish!!

      Connected by DROID on Verizon Wireless

Trackbacks

  1. Who Wants Chocolate for Breakfast? « Gluten Free Muse
  2. Take the Vega Breakfast Challenge! « Gluten Free Muse

"Musings" Welcome!

