Skip to content

Orrechiete with Sausage

May 18, 2011

I’ve probably spelled this incorrectly, but let me just tell you, I’m pretty sure it translates to: This is delicious, please eat me!

This week, I made our menu plans using Giada’s cookbook.  I love her!  I used to think that her meals were too fatty, but these were actually fairly healthy!

Orrechiete with Sausage (inspired by Giada…I deviated of course)

– 1 shallot, chopped

– 2 cloves garlic, chopped

– 1 lb pork sausage

– 2 cups dry pasta (GF)

– 1 can chickpeas

– 2 cups spinach

– 1/4 cup fresh tarragon, chopped

– 1/2 cup mascarpone cheese

Directions: Heat up 1 tsp olive oil in a saute pan.  Add in shallot and garlic and saute until translucent.  Next, add in pork and brown completely.  Next add in your chickpeas.  At this point, I boil my pasta!  Once pasta is done, drain and add the pasta plus a little pasta water to the sausage mix.  Then add in your spinach, tarragon, and mascarpone and mix until completely combined.  Then promptly devour. Awesome 🙂

Yummy!!

Now it is confession time: today I did something that I never thought I would do.  I staged a verbal complaint at our new gym.  I decided to go to my first hot yoga vinyasa class at Lifetime Fitness and needless to say, I was so frustrated I almost began crying.  I’m not sure where the instructor was certified, but he was completely incoherent and there is something to say for having an instructor that can actually do the poses they ask you to do.  I’m not saying that everyone needs to be able to do a headstand, but the basic poses are a must.  I felt that my complaint was justified and well poised, but I felt bad doing it nevertheless.

I guess the older I get the more conscious I am of how I spend my money and whether or not it is worth what I am paying.  Today, I felt that I wasn’t getting my money’s worth.

Have you ever complained about anything?  My grandparents do it all the time at restaurants, and I think that is why I was so opposed to it.  I guess I got over it today!! 🙂

No comments yet

"Musings" Welcome!

