Skip to content

Indian Spiced Rice Pudding

May 6, 2011

I am a glutton for decadent desserts!!  However, I think in terms of my scope of decadence, I’m pretty tame 🙂

Enter…Indian Spiced Rice Pudding!!!

Indian Spiced Rice Pudding

– 1.5 cups short grain brown rice

– 2 cups coconut milk

– 1 tsp nutmeg

– 1 tsp cardamom

– 3 tbsp maple syrup

– 2 tbsp butter (I used salted butter because I think salt in sweet dishes make them POP!)

– Add in dried fruit (I used a mixture of golden raisins, raspberries, blueberries, and cranberries)

Directions: Pre-cook your rice.  Then, in a saute pan, add your cooked rice, coconut milk, and butter.  Bring the mixture to a boil, then reduce to a simmer.  Allow the mixture to thicken (about 7 minutes) and add in spices, maple syrup, and dried fruit.  Continue to cook on low heat for about 5 more minutes until dried fruit softens.  Serve hot, room temperature, or cooled, whatever you like!

These pictures don’t do this rice pudding justice, but it was fantastic!  I plan on finishing the rest for breakfast!

What is your favorite dessert?? I’m really not a chocolate cake type of person…I prefer fruit cobblers, rice puddings, etc.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 7, 2011 12:11 am

    I LOVEEE rice pudding! 😀

  2. Carey Huyser permalink
    May 12, 2011 6:59 pm

    I literally just made this and am eating it as I type. It’s the best ride pudding ever!!! I would have thought 1 tsp of nutmeg would be too much, but it’s not at all. The cardamom is wonderful too. Nice job with this Alyssa!

    • May 12, 2011 8:01 pm

      Awesome!! Thanks, Carey! I swear you’re my biggest fan 🙂

      Sent via DROID on Verizon Wireless

"Musings" Welcome!

