Skip to content

Hubby is Away…Again

April 27, 2011

As you all probably know, I have a serious issue with separation anxiety.  Probably because my husband and I spent over a year living apart and 6 of those months were spent with him in Iraq.  For some reason, every time he leaves me, just for a week here or there, I fear that he won’t ever come back.  I am slowly getting past this fear, but it lingers just a bit every time he is gone.

The one bonus about him going on work trips is that I can eat and drink things that creep him out: for example, tofu and kombucha 🙂 Two faves in my belly!  So, I stocked up on kombucha and I experimented with different tofu dinners.

This night’s dinner was a spin on Fried Rice, made with tons of veggies, brown rice, crispy tofu, and topped with avocado 🙂

Although tasty, it wasn’t quite the taste I was going for…must continue to work on my fried rice recipe!

Does anyone have a good recipe for fried rice?? I feel like I am missing an ingredient…or maybe white rice is a must??

5 Comments leave one →
  1. nikkionlunch permalink
    April 28, 2011 1:08 am

    I haven’t a clue on the fried rice, but I wanted to say hang in there. Having a loved one away always stinks when you’re used to having them around. If you ever need to bs with someone to kill time, feel free to get in touch! 🙂

  2. May 2, 2011 1:55 am

    I don’t think white rice is a must, but I do think that the fried rice I eat that is made from white rice is the best. Are you using short grain brown rice or long grain? My favorite favorite (pre-gluten free) fried rice was from a vietnamese restaurant here that just used white rice, soy suace, onion and egg as their base (you could then choose veggie fried rice, pineapple fried rice, or my personal favorite at the time, pineapple and mock duck fried rice). My fried rice is pretty much the same, except I leave out the onion, and just try to keep the rice moving in my skillet so that it doesn’t burn. I haven’t perfected it yet though!

    Had to also let you know how I came across your blog – I was at Costco here in Minnesota, with my mom doing some shopping, and they had a sample of some cakes. Naturally, I couldn’t try it, and let them know when they tried to get me to sample a bite. We continued to shop, and about 15 minutes later, I heard a guy saying “miss???”. Thinking I dropped something I turned around and it was one of the samplers. He asked if I was gluten free, and I told him I was.. and he said that they had been in colorado previously, and met you. He told me that this woman had a blog all about gluten free recipes, and that I should check it out. So, you have a new follower because of some random encounter at Costco states away. 🙂

    • May 2, 2011 2:56 am

      OMG!!!! That is hands down the best story ever and possibly the best reason to explain my love for Costco! I am so honored that you actually checked me out 🙂

      Now onto the rice…I used short grain brown, but I think I need to try short grain or sticky white rice. I would love your recipe/proportions if you are willing to share?!?! Thanks for coming to my blog!

      • May 2, 2011 11:46 pm

        It was definitely super funny to see this guy running down the aisle I was at trying to let me know about your blog! I am always looking for new gluten free blogs to browse for idea suggestions or overall gluten free loving! Really glad I found your blog, my sister lives in Denver right now, so colorado has a lot of love from me…

        I’m really bad at proportions when I cook – i’m much more of a “feel it” type person (maybe thats why i’m an artist!) but I usually use a cup or so (maybe more, actually, probably closer to 2 cups) of day old cooked white rice. I use standard white (so, longer grain) rice, but I would probably much prefer sushi rice or any other short grain rice. I heat up a bit old wide skillet that looks like a wok, but isn’t, and hea tup a bit of canola oil. I scramble an egg or two first and then take that out of the skillet, then add diced carrot, celery and whatever other veggies look good (probably close to a cup total ) once those are a bit soft, I add the rice, breaking up the big clumps with a fork. I continually stir the rice so it doesn’t burn on the sides, then add a bit of soy sauce/tamari and stir the rice again to coat. add the egg back in and stir some more to coat everything. I would add chicken/tofu at this point so it gets warm (if you do tofu that has not been cooked already, i would pan dry-fry it first to get it crispy).

        its not perfect, but it gets the job done. maybe my new goal for the month will be to make the closest fried rice to my vietnamese restaurant (because boy do I miss their food!)

      • May 3, 2011 3:43 am

        That sounds fantastic 🙂 maybe it was the canola oil I needed?? Probably the rice too! I’m bad about adding too much of everything, so my wok was busting at the seams! I think when it comes to fried rice, less is more 🙂

        Sent via DROID on Verizon Wireless

"Musings" Welcome!

