Skip to content

Buffalo Pot Pie?

April 22, 2011

You bet your buttery biscuits it is!

Hubby had a hankering for something hearty and comforting and mentioned chicken pot pie and how it missed it so 🙂  Being the lovely wife that I am (haha), I decided to make it a special project for myself and GFM!

I took a simple recipe for Chicken Pot Pie and tailored it for what exactly I wanted:

Ingredients

  • 1 pound skinless, boneless chicken breast halves – cubed  1 lb ground buffalo, browned
  • 1 cup sliced carrots
  • 1 cup frozen green peas
  • 1/2 cup sliced celery
  • 1/3 cup butter
  • 1/3 cup chopped onion
  • 1/3 cup all-purpose flour1/3 cup GF Bisquick Mix
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon black pepper
  • 1/4 teaspoon celery seed2 cups chopped fingerling potatoes/1 cup frozen corn
  • 1 3/4 cups chicken broth
  • 2/3 cup milk2/3 cup Almond Milk
  • 2 (9 inch) unbaked pie crustsBisquick Mix Biscuit Recipe! (I cut this in half)

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 425 degrees F (220 degrees C.)
  2. Brown buffalo meat.  Leave remaining fat/grease in pan.  In a separate pan, boil carrots, celery, and potatoes for 15 minutes.
  3. In the saucepan over medium heat, cook onions in bison grease until soft and translucent. Stir in flour, salt, pepper, and celery seed. Slowly stir in chicken broth and milk. Simmer over medium-low heat until thick. Remove from heat and set aside.
  4. Place the chicken mixture in pie pan. Pour hot liquid mixture over. Cover with pieces of Bisquick Biscuit Mix.
  5. Bake in the preheated oven for 30 to 35 minutes, or until pastry is golden brown and filling is bubbly. Cool for 10 minutes before serving.

Approximate Nutritional Information open nutritional information

Amount Per Serving  Calories: 416 | Total Fat: 24g | Cholesterol: 56mg

This was a perfect combination of Chicken Pot Pie, Shepherd’s Pie, and Beef Stew!  It was not only a fantastic dinner, but it served as an amazing post half marathon refueling meal!

That is right!  I ran another half marathon…every time I run in a road race, I get such a runner’s high.  This was my second bought of the Platte River Half Marathon and unfortunately this year I ran a bit slower…however, I will attribute that to the fact that there was a 20 mph headwind all 13.1 miles and the fact that my entire stomach tied itself in a knot at mile 6.75.  My 7:10 mile pace went out the window.  Fortunately I was able to get a GU Gel to bring me back, but I really wasn’t the same after that.

I have no idea what caused my stomach to act up, but it hasn’t happened in almost 6 years!  Either way, my legs felt amazing and I think I could have continued running strong for another 6 miles.  All of the above caused my time to slow by only 5 minutes.  Had everything worked out perfectly, I think I could have hit the 1:20s!

What is the last road race you have run, or athletic competition you have entered?  How did it make you feel?  They always give me that motivation to sign up for another and keep training.  Love them!

No comments yet

"Musings" Welcome!

