Skip to content

Millet Morning Glory Muffins

March 23, 2011

One thing that I miss most since going 100% gluten free is baking.  I have really done my best to weed out most baked goods, and I don’t like buying non-GF baking materials because I don’t like to risk contamination.  However, I love baking and I love baking for others 🙂 So what do I do?

I save my GF baking efforts for only the best recipes!!  One of the very first GF blogs I came across was the Hope for Healing blog, by Stephanie Laidlaw.  I loved her pictures, her creative recipes, and mostly the taste of her products.  Everything I’ve made of hers has been fantastic!  Including these devilishly good muffins 🙂

These muffins were super easy to make and absolutely delicious!  My favorite muffins before going GF were Publix brand Pineapple Bran muffins…these are a close second.  The main ingredient is millet, a GF grain very similar to quinoa, which make the muffins very hearty and thick…love this!

I also had a fun time taking pictures of these muffins because they were so pretty!  Hubby even loved them 🙂  Out of respect for Stephanie and her beautiful blog, I will not replicate her recipe on my blog, but you can pull it from this link:  Millet Morning Glory Muffins

In other news, I’ve been totally exhausted lately!  I have had a terrible time getting out of bed in the morning, but I’ve had amazing energy while running!  Yesterday morning, I was up at 4:50 AM, racing to the airport to say farewell to one of my co-workers as she left for her deployment, then off to the gym to get in my speed workout: 6 miles, 1 mile warm-up, 4 miles at 7:09 pace, and 1 mile cool-down.  Normally I can’t make it more than 2.5 miles at that pace without feeling like my heart will pop out of my chest, but this time, I considered doing 5 miles at that pace! I felt great!  Same thing today…what is going on??

Do you have any great baked good recipes?  Gluten free preferred for me! Have you ever had such an awesome workout you began to doubt yourself?? I’m starting to think the treadmill wasn’t calibrated properly 🙂

7 Comments leave one →
  1. March 24, 2011 12:32 am

    Those muffins look incredible. I love baking 😀

  2. March 24, 2011 2:38 am

    Aw, thanks so much for the very kind and beautiful review. LOVED your pics and descriptions. 🙂 I am so glad that they turned out and you liked them. Thanks for the blog love! Much love to you!

    • March 24, 2011 2:43 am

      Stephanie, most definitely! It was a praiseworthy recipe for sure and your recipes are so inspirational!! Much love to you as well!!

      Sent via DROID on Verizon Wireless

  3. ashleymegan permalink
    March 24, 2011 2:42 pm

    these look amazing 🙂

    • March 24, 2011 3:05 pm

      Ashley you will love them! Sorry I missed your g chat yesterday I was at the doctor that’s awesome about the job!!!

      Sent via DROID on Verizon Wireless

  4. March 25, 2011 9:03 pm

    I love your muffins! Isn’t millet the best? I made biscuits with just millet flour, water, baking powder and olive oil last night and they were PERFECT with a little honey on top. I have a few gluten free baked goodies on my blog! You can search for sweet potato muffins, blueberry scones (sub rice flour for the spelt), or even the coconut macaroons. Let me know what you think. So glad I found your blog, it’s great! I’ve added you to my reader 🙂

"Musings" Welcome!

