Skip to content

Recovery Breakfast

March 16, 2011

This morning I had no idea what I wanted to eat for breakfast…so I made several things 🙂  Of course, Hubby had to help with some, and some I saved for later in the week.

This was a cranberry orange smoothie made with cranberry and orange juices, Amazing Grass protein powder, 1/2 a banana, greek yogurt, and some ice.  It was delish!  Yet, I still didn’t finish it 😦

Next up, a bowl of cottage cheese oats (haven’t had these in a while!) topped with banana, strawberries, Barney Butter, and Love Grown Foods Cranberry granola!  Unfortunately, I enjoyed the top of the oats rather than the bottom.  I used Nancy’s Rennetless Cottage Cheese…it is really tart and tangy, not quite my favorite. Ever had it?

Lastly, my favorite!

A cup of mate 🙂 (mah-tey) From Teavana!  This is one of our favorite stores for tea…this flavor is matevana and it tastes like chocolate…love it!

Have I mentioned that I’ve given up coffee?  I’ve realized that coffee does strange things to my appetite and I experience a feeling of complete exhaustion later in the day.  In switching to mate (same caffeine strength), these effects have significantly lessened.  I still get a healthy does of caffeine, but in a more gentle form.  It doesn’t give me intense hunger or headaches, which is HUGE!  I initially had headaches from getting off coffee (I only had a cup a day in the morning), every day at the same time in the afternoon!!  I’m over the hump with the coffee and feeling much better.  Ever given up caffeine or coffee before? What were your symptoms?

In other news, I tried sulfite free wine to see how I reacted.  Here are the results:

– I didn’t get a headache AS quickly, but it still came on eventually

– I felt extremely foggy and heavy headed while drinking the wine

– Afterwards, I felt the need to chug 24 oz of water to make the feeling go away

All in all, it seems that my response to alcohol has been trying to tell me something: regardless of the sulfites, alcohol doesn’t make me feel well!  We went out to dinner with my parents last night and I didn’t even finish my wine…I had no desire and I didn’t care how much my parents paid for it. Mom and I both left about 1/2 to 3/4 of the glass.  That is unheard of for me!

I think I’ve made leaps and bounds in realizing how wine has made me feel and physically wanting to stay away from it.  Needless to say, I am proud of myself 🙂

Ever given something up because of a reaction you’ve had? What was it?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 18, 2011 3:54 pm

    A lovely & tasty breakfast! I love it all!

    MMMMMM,…;I just added you to my list of foodbloggers that I totally digg!

"Musings" Welcome!

