Skip to content

Beans, Beans are Good for the Heart!

February 22, 2011

The more you eat, the more you…hmmm, I can’t seem to remember what comes next 🙂

Hubby and I drove up to the mountains to spend the weekend with my Mom and our friends Brandon and Caitlin.  Love ski weekends!! One of my favorite ski weekend meals is my chili…easy to make, pretty healthy, and delicious!

While we hit the slopes, this cooked up all day!

GFM Chili

– 1 container ground turkey

– 1 onion, chopped

– 2 cloves garlic

– 2 tbsp chili powder

– 1 tsp cayenne pepper

– 1 tsp smoked paprika

– 2 tbsp spicy spaghetti seasoning

– 1 tbsp red pepper flakes

– 4 tbsp brown sugar

– 1 tbsp cinnamon

– 1 can Rotel tomatoes

– 3 cans of beans (your choice), rinsed

Directions: Saute your onion and garlic in EVOO.  Once soft, add in the meat and brown.  Once browned, add in your spices and stir to combine.  Add in beans, stir and slow cook for as many hours as possible. The longer you cook the better it tastes!

And this is what we had after a long day of skiing!! I like to eat my chili over steamed rice 🙂 I let Hubby choose the rice, so it was white Jasmine this time. I always pick brown, so it was a nice change.

Yum!

Brandon and Caitlin brought their dog, Yankee to play with Beau as well!

Beau has the red collar. These two were inseparable!

Hubby actually had to separate them a few times 🙂

Do you live near a ski location? If so, where is your favorite place to ski? Hubby and I love Copper Mountain but I’ve heard great things about Utah skiing!

No comments yet

"Musings" Welcome!

