Skip to content

Clean and Simple

February 20, 2011

I am so sorry it has been so long!! Here is a little recap of what has been going on in my life:

– Hubby and I are charging hard through our Master’s programs and busy as ever!

– Little Beau (our puppy) is now 3 times the size of when we got him! He is absolutely adorable and sooo smart!

– I ran my first marathon and you should have seen the videos from that in my previous post!

– I’ve signed up for my first olympic distance triathlon!

– I’ve been getting back into yoga and LOVING it!  I’m so sore and so at peace

– The biggest and most recent development?? I think I’ve found another allergy that I have!!! More to come on this 🙂

I’ve taken on another personal challenge: Clean Eating.  I’ve been doing a great job so far 🙂 I use Clean Eating Magazine as my guide and eat about 6 small meals a day all full of variety, nutrition, and delicious options!

For tonight’s meal, Hubby and I had baked chicken (I used my Perfect Poultry Seasoning from Big Acres Gourmet…awesome blend!), wild rice pilaf, and nutty kale!

I simply sprinkled the seasoning on the chicken and baked at 375 for about 25 minutes.  Absolutely perfect!!

The wild rice pilaf was simple…into our awesome rice cooker (Krups brand from my Aunt and Uncle for our wedding!) press cook, and ta-dah! Perfect rice 🙂

The nutty kale was the star of the show for sure!

Nutty Kale (Adapted from Clean Eating Magazine)

– 3 cups kale

– 1 tsp EVOO

– 1 tsp cumin

– 1 tsp Garam Masala (Indian spice)

– 1 tsp garlic

– 1/2 onion, chopped

– 1 tbsp almond butter

Directions: Saute your onions and garlic in EVOO. Next, add in your spices!  Once soft, add in the kale and let it wilt to get soft. Lastly, stir in your nut butter.  Serve hot and enjoy!

Other than the rice, this meal required about 25 minutes total of prep and cooking! Talk about a work week winner 🙂  Simple and “Clean”!

What do you have going on in your life?? Any new or exciting news?

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 20, 2011 10:12 pm

    Looks so good! I may be turning to you and your blog in the next week or so; testing out a gluten-free diet (don’t have celiac’s but wondering if I’m gluten intolerant).

    • February 21, 2011 3:01 am

      Emily,

      Hopefully I will have enough new posts for you! Almost everyone has an intolerance to gluten…it is just whether or not it is measurable enough to notice! Good luck to you!

  2. February 21, 2011 4:51 pm

    Waw!! You ran your 1st marathon!! Good for you!! Yeahie!!

    Your dish looks quite fabulous! The food looks awesome !!

    • February 21, 2011 5:14 pm

      It was a blast! Disney is highly recommended! Try the dish and let me know how you like it 🙂

"Musings" Welcome!

