Skip to content

Busting Out the Cookbooks!

December 7, 2010

A place setting, oh so nice 🙂

Gorgeous accompaniments, times thrice! Browned Butter Brussels…

White Peach Balsamic Mushrooms…

Balsamic Fingerling Potato Salad…

All with a nice juicy steak! This dinner was off the hook 🙂

I got the recipe for the Brussels Sprouts from the Southern Living Christmas Cookbook…this was a gift from my Mom last year!

Browned Butter Brussels

3 cups brussels sprouts

1.5 tbsp olive oil

1 pkg slivered almonds

1.5 tbsp butter

1 clove garlic, minced

1/4 tsp salt

1/4 tsp pepper

Method: Slice your brussels sprouts in half, place them in a baking dish, toss with olive oil and bake at 425 for 20 minutes. Next, brown your butter and toss in your almonds until golden brown. Add garlic and cook for another minute.  Pour over sprouts and serve immediately. Yum!

I got the potato recipe out of my I Love Trader Joe’s Cook Book! I substituted over half the ingredients 🙂 Here is my version of the recipe:

Balsamic Fingerling Potato Salad

– 1/2 lb fingerling potatoes, halved lengthwise

– 2 tbsp balsamic vinegar

– 1/4 onion, minced

– 2 tbsp greek yogurt

– 1 strip bacon, crisped up

– salt and pepper

– Italian parsley, chopped

Method: Place potatoes in a pot and bring to a boil, reduce to a simmer and cook for 15 minutes. Meanwhile, crisp up your bacon and saute your onion. Transfer to a large bowl and mix in yogurt. Remove potatoes from water and toss into the bowl. Add in balsamic vinegar and parsley and combine. Serve immediately!

The meal was hearty and delish! What recipes have you followed lately?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Jennifer permalink
    December 8, 2010 12:34 am

    My favorite cook book is Julia Child’s The Way to Cook. I have my very own Autographed copy. In 1994 I was the Nanny for the children of her personal assistant, Joanne. Joanne would take the baby and I to work with her which just happened to be in Julia’s Cambridge House. I sat at the kitchen table that’s in the Smithsonian to give the baby a bottle. My husband ordered me the Mastering the Art of French Cooking two volume set for Christmas. I can’t wait to dig in and start making some of those recipes! I will remember those few months I got to spend in the great Master’s shadow while I cook!

    • December 8, 2010 1:00 am

      Jennifer, that is an amazing story!!! I am so jealous of your experience with her and wish i could be afforded that opportunity in my lifetime! Did you see julie and julia? Was it a comparable reenactment?

      Sent via DROID on Verizon Wireless

  2. December 8, 2010 2:53 am

    Mushrooms and brussel sprouts..mmmm…both recipes sounds wonderful!

  3. December 8, 2010 3:25 pm

    That recipe for brussel sprouts sounds great! I was just in Barnes and Noble yesterday and spotted Trader Joe’s cookbook for the first time. Since I don’t have a TJ near me I had no idea they had a cookbook. I think I need to make a day trip to their nearest store though after looking through their cookbook! Love the place settings, by the way 🙂

    • December 8, 2010 4:07 pm

      Thanks! Funny thing, the cookbook is not by TJs but it is written by a huge fan of TJs!!

      Sent via DROID on Verizon Wireless

  4. December 9, 2010 1:03 pm

    I made brussels sprouts for the first time this week and loved them! Who knew? I’ll have to try this recipe too. Beautiful table.

"Musings" Welcome!

