Skip to content

A Hankering for Chinese

November 29, 2010

I know, I know…not Chinese, but Hubby and I felt like having a bit of wine and cheese! We shared this glass of Cool Red by Relax Wine. It is quite tasty! I think it will be one of my favorites…slightly sweet and incredibly smooth. We picked up a few scraps of cheese from Whole Foods’ scraps bin. Perfect for someone who loves sampling new cheeses!

After eating lunch with our friend Ashley in South Florida, I have been dying for Orange Chicken! She had some from Whole Foods and it looked fantastic. I pulled up this gluten free recipe and gave it a whirl!

Hubby chopped up some organic Bok Choy (love this stuff) for an Asian flair.

I whisked up the orange sauce…

Prepped the chopped garlic and ginger…

And threw it all in the wok!

Dinner was a hit 🙂 Not exactly what I hoped for, but pretty darn close!

Here is the recipe that I used from About.com:

Easy Orange Chicken Stir-Fry

Ingredients:

  • 4 boneless, skinless chicken breast halves, cut into 1-inch cubes
  • Marinade:
  • 2 tablespoons Chinese rice wine or dry sherry
  • 1 tablespoon cornstarch
  • Sauce:
  • 1/3 cup orange juice*
  • 2 tablespoons dark soy sauce
  • 1 teaspoon sesame oil
  • 1 teaspoon brown sugar
  • 1/4 teaspoon chile paste
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1 slice ginger, minced
  • Oil for stir-frying, as needed

Preparation:

Place the cubed chicken in a bowl, and add the marinade ingredients. Marinate the chicken for 30 minutes.

While the chicken is marinating, prepare the sauce ingredients and the garlic and ginger.

Heat the wok and add oil. When oil is ready, add the garlic and ginger and stir-fry until aromatic.

Add the chicken and stir-fry until it changes color. Push up to the sides of the wok, making a well in the middle. Add the sauce.

Combine the sauce and the chicken. Stir-fry for another minute and serve hot.

*If you find the orange flavor too overpowering, try substituting a combination of orange juice and water to make 1/3 cup.

Nom, nom, nom!

Dessert was some of my “famous” (a relative fame, of course) Hazelnut Dark Hot Chocolate! Served in our brand new Christmas Soup Mugs from Grandma and Grandaddy! Thanks for them, they worked perfectly 🙂

 

Do you have food allergies? Any good replacements you have discovered?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. carascravings permalink
    November 29, 2010 11:40 pm

    Mmmm!
    Looks great.
    I am sure it’s was better and a lot fresher than
    any take-out you could have ordered.

    • November 30, 2010 12:12 am

      True, but it wasn’t as crispy as i would have hoped!! Thanks, Cara!

      Sent via DROID on Verizon Wireless

  2. November 30, 2010 3:39 am

    mmm, wish I was sipping on that cup of cocoa right now!! Sounds great!

  3. November 30, 2010 6:09 pm

    Oi, give me that cheese plate!

    I’m lucky not to have any allergies.. I used to be slightly lactose intolerant when I was around 10 yrs old but since then it’s gone but I still don’t drink milk.

"Musings" Welcome!

