Skip to content

Spousal Chili Cook-Off!

November 17, 2010

Our friends Dave and Dana invited us to a local college football game recently, and Hubby and I take football VERY seriously!! Well, at least the tailgating portion 🙂

 

Enter…SPOUSAL CHILI COOK-OFF!

 

OF COURSE!The weather was amazing for this time of year! Traditionally in Colorado Springs, the first snow is on Halloween, but this year it didn’t even come close! Well into November, so we were lucky to have such gorgeous weather for the game 🙂

We had entirely too much food for the 7 of us! But better too much than too little, right?

Hubby, Brandon, and Caitlin enjoying the aftermath of the infamous chili battle!

Dave, Dana, and Esther…who couldn’t hop on the truck bed for her life! 🙂 I think she was laughing too hard to go anywhere 🙂

Pardon the steamy photo, but this was my eclectic chili…a HUGE hit!  Threw a twist in there with my sweet potatoes 🙂

Hubby made his family’s Cincinnati Chili, which people enjoyed, but I think they liked mine better :0) However, we have amazing friends, so they refused to pick a winner…hence, why Hubby and I are still eating our chili(s) in peace 🙂

The game was intense…and freezing!  But our team played great!

What type of chili is standard in your house?? Seeing as it is regional, I believe everyone has a type of chili they associate with!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. November 17, 2010 3:41 am

    I can’t pick one! Don’t make me…

    I almost made butternut and black bean chilli tonight though. Then i got lazy. Your’s looks fantastic!

  2. November 17, 2010 4:31 am

    the standard in our house is made by my hubby:
    ground beef
    black beans
    diced tomatoes
    tomato sauce
    chili powder
    jalapenos

    that’s it. so simple and so good.

    • November 17, 2010 8:50 pm

      Heather, the recipe looks fantastic! I will have to give it a try 🙂 Sometimes my chili gets a bit too creative 🙂

  3. November 17, 2010 3:33 pm

    A spousal chili cookoff? Such a fun idea! I would have gladly helped your party finish off some chili 🙂

    • November 17, 2010 8:51 pm

      Natalia, it is great fun! Even to do it with a boyfriend, family member, or friend…it is friendly, foodie fun 🙂

  4. carascravings permalink
    November 18, 2010 5:02 am

    Yours looks so yummy!
    I am hosting a chili party at my place
    this weekend. I am super pumped; I love chili!
    Lots of veggies and beans for me!

    • November 19, 2010 12:49 am

      Cara, chili parties are always a hit! Who doesn’t love something that is warm, comforting, spicy, sweet, and good for you!?!? Have a blast!

"Musings" Welcome!

