Skip to content

Tryin’ Out My New Thangs

November 13, 2010

Today was…well, it was quite a day. I began my official marathon training, T-minus 9 weeks to go! Luckily, I don’t have to use any vacation time to go! Gotta appreciate the little things, right?

Ran my 6 miles today and burned about 640 calories…not bad 🙂 It has been a while since I’ve tracked my calorie burn, but I think it helps me calculate how hard I actually worked.

Today was super busy and I had tons of emails from the day I took off of work last week. I ended up staying at work until 6PM 😦 And it will only get busier! In fact, I just decided this afternoon that I am having my office come in to work on Saturday. I’ve tried the positive motivation, I’ve tried the scare tactic, now I’m moving on to the power trip…we’ll see how this works. Believe me, I am NOT happy about working on a Saturday, especially since I put in about 10 extra hours a week already, but since I’m the boss, I’ve got to set the example.

Anyone have a similar situation?

Onto more exciting things…I tested out my new Crate and Barrel purchases! Lauri, I know you understand me 🙂

I was really pleased with the way my new dishes and placemats worked together 🙂 I just need to find a white table or blank slate to photograph on…the granite is a bit too shiny!

Dinner was awesome by the way 🙂 Mostly because Hubby bought me this!

Our first WOK! Probably why dinner “wokked” tonight 🙂

Hubby worked on the salmon and brushed them with Garlic Gold, and then sprinkled them with the Tyler Florence Pork Seasoning I got from Foodbuzz. Although the seasoning is for pork, it goes AMAZINGLY with salmon! We baked it at 450 degrees for 10 minutes…one of my favorite easy dinners.

I worked on these guys!

I tossed the veggies in Garlic Gold and a surprise…

Oh yes. This was absolutely fantastic! Most Great Harvest Bread Companies have their own butter…I highly recommend buying! The veggies tasted the perfect blend of sweet and savory. Give the combo a try!

Please give the veggies a try??? 😉

We paired our dinner with some Pacific Foods Creamy Tomato Soup…gluten free of course 🙂

We topped the soup with some Chobani 2% Greek Yogurt. The difference between 0% and 2% is unbelievable! So much more creamy and tasty! I’m losing my fear of consuming fat, slowly but surely!

The Applewood Smoked Pork Seasoning on the Salmon paired perfectly with my cinna-garlic veggies. Combo made in heaven!

Are you afraid of fat? Or do you consume it willingly?

Do you have any “clutch” (i.e. wicked, sick, cool) photography tricks?

Do you own a WOK!?!?

Have a great day/night! (depending on where you are reading from 🙂 Cara/Anne!)

12 Comments leave one →
  1. November 13, 2010 9:04 am

    Jealous! Really want a wok!

  2. November 13, 2010 5:12 pm

    I want to come over for dinner!!! That all looks SO good.

    I have a wok, but I rarely use it. I’m kind of partial to my cast iron skillets.

  3. November 13, 2010 5:56 pm

    Ha ha!! I DO understand!! Dinner looks yummy!!! I really wish I liked salmon though 😦
    I don’t think I’m afraid of fat… I figure an all around ‘balanced’ diet will include some healthy (and unhealthy) fats naturally!

  4. November 14, 2010 1:52 am

    Love those kinds of veggies. I could live on roasted brussel sprouts, potatoes, asparagus, garlic, and onions.

    I finally lost my fear of fat about 9 years ago. I had previously been through the hellish phase of low/no fat and it wrecked me.
    I was tired, grumpy, dry and sallow-skinned, and worst of all constipated for 3 MONTHS!! seriously, nothing but rabbit turds for 3 months.
    I started eating healthy fats and have been regular ever since.

    now hand me the peanut butter, avocadoes, and olives!! 😉

    • November 14, 2010 4:07 am

      Heather, I honestly think that is why I had so many stomach issues as well! (in addition to Celiac disease) I eat a healthy dose of fat each day and I agree…regularity is pretty common round here 😉

  5. November 14, 2010 3:07 pm

    YUM!!

    The butter sounds amazing!!

    Good luck with your marathon training. I have a half in January, first was not going to do it, but now I might try to train…might be the key word ; )

    Michelle

  6. November 15, 2010 8:51 am

    I have been dying to buy a wok! I can’t wait to see what great stuff you come up with.

  7. November 15, 2010 1:32 pm

    Love my wok! That butter looks heavenly!

    • November 15, 2010 3:08 pm

      You’ll have to give me wok cooking tips, Holly!

      Sent via DROID on Verizon Wireless

"Musings" Welcome!

