Skip to content

The Gala…Not the Apple!

November 9, 2010

After an insane cab ride and a hop, skip, and a jump, we ended up in front of this beauty! The San Francisco Ferry Building. I must say, it is much more impressive at night 🙂

Appetizers and a very friendly wait staff made this experience very worthwhile 🙂

The set-up was gorgeous. Well done, Foodbuzz!

I got the gluten free options for dinner. To start: the beet and arugula salad. Delicious! Everyone wished they had my GF menu items 🙂 This is my one complaint though…why was I asked if I had any food allergies if I was only catered to on one occasion? I really felt that the festival portrayed a poor culinary image of San Francisco…the city has so much to offer, especially in terms of gluten free, vegetarian, and vegan options. I felt that we didn’t really get to see that 😦

The fennel and scallop combo was my absolute favorite part of the meal. The sweetness from the scallops and the anise flavor from the fennel paired perfectly!

The lamb was disappointing. It was overcooked, way too fatty, and served with a butternut squash puree…I prefer my butternut squash in cubes…I love SUBSTANCE! The mushrooms, however, were AMAZING! 🙂

Dessert was GF as well: A poached pair filled with sorbet and served with grapes and dates. Very yum and light…just how I like it!

A fun dinner, but I was pooped! So glad to be back home 🙂

7 Comments leave one →
  1. November 9, 2010 7:56 am

    I’m so lucky I sat next to you! And totally agree, the festival didn’t do san fran its foodie justice!

  2. carascravings permalink
    November 9, 2010 10:05 am

    Even though “foodie justice” may not have been achieved, it
    still looks great! I really want to visit that city now.

    • November 9, 2010 11:54 am

      The city is amazing! And only a 11-12 hr flight from Korea!?

      Sent via DROID on Verizon Wireless

  3. spoonfulofsugarfree permalink
    November 9, 2010 12:22 pm

    That is so gorgeous!! The plates look as divine as the buildings 🙂

    • November 9, 2010 1:24 pm

      Everything was plated very nicely, that’s for sure!!

      Sent via DROID on Verizon Wireless

  4. November 10, 2010 4:27 am

    I’m glad you are back home with your man. I’m still recovering from my trip, my room looked like a tornado hit it, left my room really messy while I was rushing and packing for the trip.

    I had a lot of fun with you. Glad we decided to be roommates. I learned a lot about GF life from our talks. I’m behind in my recap but will have it up soon.

    You should definitely bring the hubby back to San Fran and make a trip to Napa while you’re in town. It’s so romantic and you will both enjoy it.

  5. November 10, 2010 4:28 am

    P.S. Why didn’t you post a picture of your in your pretty dress? You were smokin’ hot that night, lol. I’m jealous of your mile high legs 🙂

"Musings" Welcome!

