Skip to content

Starting Out with My Greens

November 3, 2010

What better way than starting your day with some greens??

So, it looks a bit more brown than green…oops 🙂 It was from the unsweetened cranberry juice I added! I had half before my workout and half after. My legs were pooped today, so this smoothie was perfect for bringing some life back into them!

My workout today consisted of interval training with plyometrics and running. Then I walked at an incline for 10 minutes, totaling in a 60 minute workout and about 400 calories.

Breakfast was overnight oats with cottage cheese (2%…so much more natural!), berries, Sunbutter, psyllium husks, and chia seeds. Perfect breakfast!

A lovely salad for lunch with veggies and topped with Don Sabrosa’s Peaches, Blueberries, and Honey Salsa, tahini, and nutritional yeast.  I love the salsa, tahini, nutritional yeast combo…such great flavor!

And a snack of Rice Dreams Gluten Free and Dairy Free chocolate! It was actually surprisingly good 🙂

How was your day? Ever tried dairy free chocolate? What did you think? T-3 days until Foodbuzz!

11 Comments leave one →
  1. November 3, 2010 1:45 am

    My chocolate is always dairy-free 🙂 My favorite is 73% cacao dark chocolate 🙂

  2. Kasey permalink
    November 3, 2010 2:18 am

    Hey Alyssa! It’s Kasey from school…I found your blog through Facebook and it’s awesome! I went GF a little over a year ago while I was stationed in Italy (talk about a challenge) and it has improved my life so much…basically I was getting sick with flu-like symptoms constantly and the doctors think it was an autoimmune reaction to the gluten. I haven’t had an official diagnosis but the lifestyle change has been worth it to me. Anyway, I just wanted to say your blog is great AND the hubs and I now live in San Francisco (we’re both AFIT students). I hope you enjoy the weekend here at the Foodbuzz festival, we’ll be running the US Half Marathon on Sunday so maybe you’ll see us running the streets.
    -Kasey
    p.s. I love the Tongue and Quill in your picture 🙂

    • November 3, 2010 2:30 am

      Kasey, thanks so much for the comment! I am so glad that you and the “hubs” are finally together :0) It took me and “Hubby” a while before we were able to get together! Yay for GF! It is tough at first, but then it just becomes a way of life :0) I will send you my phone number for sure! I will be in San Fran for a few extra hours on both Sunday and Friday, so we should totally meet up!! Thanks for getting in touch with me!

  3. carascravings permalink
    November 3, 2010 4:36 am

    Thanks for stopping by my blog, it has been a long time!
    Sorry that I have been so elusive!
    I thought I was subscribed to your blog, but I guess not…but I am now!

  4. spoonfulofsugarfree permalink
    November 3, 2010 12:47 pm

    Ooo! I love your new theme (don’t know how new it is because I always just see you through google reader…) I eat unsweetened chocolate, which never contains any dairy! I love my Baker’s!

    • November 3, 2010 1:02 pm

      I started buying Baker’s unsweetened chocolate too — took a little getting used to, but it is actually quite delicious! And I love the ingredients: chocolate 🙂

  5. November 3, 2010 7:54 pm

    I’ve never paid attention to the dairy in chocolate…hmmm, something new to look at!

    • November 3, 2010 8:07 pm

      Yea, i didn’t either! Milk chocolate, yes, dark no!

      Sent via DROID on Verizon Wireless

  6. November 4, 2010 2:07 pm

    We eat a lot of dark chocolate because it’s already dairy-free!

"Musings" Welcome!

