Skip to content

Newfound Love

October 19, 2010

So after reading about one of Kath’s dinners with friends, I have had this dish all over my mind!

Can you tell what it is?

How about now?

Ok, ok…it’s BBQ Tempeh!!! Soooo good! Even Hubby is drooling over it 🙂

We made it again for dinner last night because I was craving it all day long! It is super inexpensive and easy to make:

– Chop tempeh into 1 inch cubes

– Douse with marinade/sauce of choice

– Allow to marinade for approx 15 minutes (the longer the better)

– Heat up a saute pan and add in 1 tsp olive oil to keep the tempeh from sticking

– Add marinated tempeh to saute pan and brown all sides (approx 2-3 min per side)

– EAT!!!!!

Last night’s dinner: BBQ Tempeh, Wild Rice and Lentil Pilaf, White Peach Balsamic Kale, and Roasted Kabocha…yes, this meal was delivered by angels 🙂 The kale was sauteed using our new Peach White Balsamic Vinegar from the Olive Tap courtesy of Dad 🙂 It truly made the dish!

All enjoyed with a pair of these:

Both to slow me down and in turn allow me to savor my meal. Too bad I’ve gotten really good with chopsticks 🙂

Have you discovered a meal yet that you can’t get enough of? Please share!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. October 19, 2010 2:45 am

    This looks awesome! Kudos to Kath for making tempeh look like something you shouldn’t be eating 🙂 I have had two tempeh fails in the last week…maybe I can have a success with this one!!

  2. Carey permalink
    October 19, 2010 3:06 am

    Alyssa, that dish looks awesome!!! How healthy too! I haven’t tried that variety of squash before…is it similar to Acorn? Did you roast it already cut up? And I don’t think I have ever had tempeh…just tofu. For some reason I thought tempeh was made from wheat. Something that I am hooked on right now is “Lemon Kale Chips” (elanaspantry.com) You basically cut the kale into chip-sized pieces, toss with lemon juice, olive oil, and salt, then spread out on a pan and bake at 350 till crispy. Very good 🙂

  3. ashleymegan permalink
    October 19, 2010 5:37 pm

    Alyssa that looks AMAZING! i wish i could eat at your house every day!

  4. October 19, 2010 9:19 pm

    Hi roomie, I’ve never made tempeh at home before, but I’ve ordered it at restaurant. I think I would prepare it same way as tofu right? It will pick up the taste of the marinade same as tofu?

    I eat my kabocha squash with coconut butter on top or almond butter, so good 🙂

    • October 20, 2010 12:42 am

      Hey Lea! Apparently you have to marinate tempeh longer than tofu, but we were fine simply marinating it for about 15 minutes before cooking and it was fine!

      Tempeh you can also eat raw, but I like lightly toasting it to give it a bit of crunch on the outside, same as tofu 🙂 I love my kabocha with both of those toppings too!

      Can’t wait for Foodbuzz!

  5. October 20, 2010 4:37 pm

    I have so many meals I can get enough of.. pasta is one winning dish in this. I just had pasta 3 days in a row 😀

    • October 20, 2010 5:16 pm

      If i could eat pasta, i’m sure i’d be right there with you Anne!

      Sent via DROID on Verizon Wireless

"Musings" Welcome!

