Skip to content

Tummy Troubles…

October 18, 2010

So, who all out there ever has tummy troubles?

I know I do!  I’ve gotten much better since I’ve been eating completely gluten free, but I will still get pretty sick when I overeat. Anyone else get that way?

Now, most importantly, who gets grumpy when they have stomach issues (i.e. going to the bathroom too much, not enough, bloated, cramps, etc.)? I am willing to bet that most of us get emotionally run down when our GI systems are out of whack. I truly believe the whole, “You are what you eat” mentality, because half the time, when I eat something that I shouldn’t in a larger quantity than I should, my mood certainly reflects that. Just something to ponder 🙂

Dinner after our lovely trip to Pine was super easy…neither of us felt like cooking=ONE POT MEAL!

This was a crockpot combo of turkey tenderloin, LOTs of veggies, and some leftover turkey chili…simmah, simmah, simmah all day long!

So stewy and warm! Perfect for a crisp Fall day…which by the way, we are starting to get here in CO!

On top of this comforting meal…another wonderful surprise!

It’s BACK!! My sister sent me a text message saying the exact same thing and I went sprinting to Whole Foods! It tastes just about the same…a bit more sugar (4g instead of 2g) and it is “pasteurized”…so don’t get too excited about the same “happy” effects you may have gotten before 😦 Still soothes my tummy though!

What are your thoughts between the correlation of tummies and emotions? I obviously think they are hugely connected (seeing as several symptoms of Celiac are mood swings and depression…no wonder!) 🙂

7 Comments leave one →
  1. October 18, 2010 6:05 pm

    I totally relate to this topic. My tummy troubles (mostly due to IBS) can definitely weight on me emotionally and physically. I get really bummed out when I have a bad GI day, especially because sometimes mine come from eating the right food (veggies and salads). For the most part I do know what I should and shouldn’t eat and in what combinations but it can be difficult. I recently started a food journal to help me track what’s going on 🙂

  2. October 18, 2010 10:52 pm

    oh yes, we have shared our tummy problems many times on our blog. We totally believe you are what you eat, and your emotions are just as important to consider when eating. Kombucha helps us too. Although I know it doesn’t for everyone. I think everyone has to find what foods (and drinks) that make them feel their best and what things make them feel crappy. Because who wants to feel crappy all the time? Yes here and there it will happen because we are all human, and might over eat something, but we let it go and do better the next day!! Well at least that is what I tell myself, haha

  3. spoonfulofsugarfree permalink
    October 19, 2010 12:40 pm

    Oh my gosh! My stomach has been like this, too!! So… what I did was go off of any possibly troubling foods : dairy (was already off this), gluten, nuts (gasp! I know…But I eat SOOO much of the stuff that My stomach might have gone-ACK! TOO MUCH!)……And then i just went off grains period. So far my stomach feels SO much better! I plan on reintroduces the nuts back into my diet, but I think I’ll stay off gluten and dairy.

    • October 19, 2010 1:05 pm

      Yea, when i get really bad i go on a clean eating diet…allergy free that is! Good luck! Make sure you only introduce one food group at a time so you can ID what is bothering your tummy!

      Sent via DROID on Verizon Wireless

  4. October 20, 2010 6:42 pm

    I don’t have too many tummy issues, but I think when any part of your body feels bad, it’s hard to not let it make you feel all bad. Feeling crappy pretty much bites. I am humbled by people with chronic pain who somehow manage to do a mind over matter Jedi trick and not let it turn them into complete misers.

    • October 20, 2010 6:57 pm

      That sounds like my uncle who has survived chronic hepatitis a his whole life. Always struggling with the pain but never complaining.

      Sent via DROID on Verizon Wireless

Trackbacks

  1. Saucy, silly, serious | Mindfully Emily

"Musings" Welcome!

