Skip to content

Reconstitution

October 14, 2010

Uh wuh?? Yes, reconstitution…reconstitution of LEFTOVERS! I swear, I hated leftovers as a kid, and I know that this trick most definitely works! If only my mom had taken the initiative to reconstitute our food…or for a more appetizing term=give our dinner a makeover!

Hubby and I had leftover mashed potatoes and steak from our Steak Dinner and they were in desperate need of being eaten! However, I hate simply reheating my dinner…might as well be a TV dinner (remember those?)

SO…what do you do?

Potato Pea Pancakes

2 cups mashed potatoes

1 cup brown rice

1 cup peas

Directions: Preheat a frying pan to medium high heat and add in olive oil. I used Garlic Gold and it was amazing! Form the mixture into patties and pan sear them on each side for 2-3 minutes or until golden brown. Remove from heat and enjoy!

Warm Steak Salad

1 tsp Garlic Gold

1 tbsp butter

10 oz steak, sliced

1 onion, diced

1 cup shitake mushrooms, sliced

2 cups peas

2 cups raw spinach

Directions: Preheat frying pan to medium-high heat. Add in oil and butter until it is hot. Add in onion and mushrooms and saute until translucent. Next add in the sliced steak, simply to heat (grill first!), peas and spinach. Once peas are BRIGHT green and spinach is wilted…remove from heat and enjoy!

This meal was amazing and literally took 15 minutes to whip up. Love quick fix meals!

I did Body Pump this morning and I am so sore! I didn’t get a chance to run today and I’m thinking it was for the best 🙂 I really need to rest my legs more often!

What did you do today?

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 14, 2010 9:49 pm

    I’ve had a fantastic day so far. The husband and I did Insanity this morning and I spent the bulk of the afternoon chasing my kids around a park (and saving my two year old’s life multiple times). Kinda a bonus workout – lifting 30+ lb kids up to the slide and carrying them across the monkey bars while they think they are ‘doing it by myself.’

    Those potato patties look great. Both pregnancies had me craving potatoes something fierce the whole first trimester. Those patties would have been great to take for lunches and such to satisfy my cravings.

    • October 14, 2010 10:09 pm

      I cannot wait for days like that, Michelle! The potato patties are amazing 🙂 Even if you aren’t pregnant you will enjoy these!

  2. October 18, 2010 12:43 pm

    Potato pea cakes look great. I just love simple recipes like this! YAY for leftovers!!

"Musings" Welcome!

