Skip to content

Hubby Makes Dinner

October 13, 2010

Yes, this is such a momentous occasion that it deserves its own blatant title 🙂 Just joking, sweetie!

 

Hubby makes dinner every now and again, but just recently, we’ve come to an agreement: he makes dinner Mondays and Wednesdays, and I will do the rest. Why Mondays and Wednesdays? So I can make it to yoga and not feel bad for making him starve!

 

Tonight was a yoga night! And Hubby delivered!

 

I once again barely made it to yoga on time…geesh! It must be a part of the whole experience 🙂 We did an awesome balancing series and our instructor slapped my hips straight across their face! (if they had one…its a nicer way of saying that my hips had their a$$ handed to them :-))

 

I was pretty pooped after yoga and really wasn’t hungry, but when I got home, I knew I had to eat some of this awesome dinner!!

 

Caponata Stuffed Acorn Squash

-Leftover Caponata from Chicken Caponata recipe

– 1 acorn squash, halved and cored

– 1 tsp olive oil

– 1 tsp truffle oil

– 1 oz goat cheese

 

Preheat your oven to 450 degrees. Meanwhile, half and core your acorn squash. Take remaining caponata mixture and stuff into each squash half. Bake for 45 minutes. Remove from heat and top with goat cheese. Return to the oven for another 5 minutes to make it nice and soft! Enjoy 🙂 (even more if someone makes it for you!)

We had this with leftover Lemon Parmesan Swiss Chard and Tofu, and I whipped up a quick Heirloom Tomato and Avocado salad. So good!

I ate half of my acorn squash serving and the rest of the plate.

Hubby was offended that I didn’t clear my plate, but I explained that it was SO GOOD that I was saving some for later 🙂 He was pleased with that response.

 

Doesn’t food taste better when someone else prepares it? 🙂

16 Comments leave one →
  1. October 13, 2010 5:21 am

    I do think food taste better when someone else cooks it! Of course, my husband can’t cook though he does follow directions very well. Your dinner looks awesome!

    • October 13, 2010 11:22 am

      Honestly, Christie, i tell him what we are having for dinner, because that is the hardest part for him. Then he gets creative 🙂

  2. October 13, 2010 6:06 am

    can I borrow your hubby ? (relax……. just to cook for me!)

  3. October 13, 2010 11:13 am

    Food is totally better when prepared by someone else! Dinner looks awesome

    • October 13, 2010 5:14 pm

      Steph, thanks for visiting gf muse! Dinner was delicious. All the recipes are posted if you want to give it a shot 🙂

  4. October 13, 2010 12:26 pm

    I love when my husband cooks! Its true that things always taste better that way.

    And at first I thought you were saying your instructor actually slapped your hips. LOL

    • October 13, 2010 6:31 pm

      Tina, thanks for stopping by gf muse!! Haha and no, my instructor didn’t slap my hips 🙂 just killed them!

  5. October 13, 2010 1:19 pm

    My husband cooks dinner on my birthday and thats about it! I’m happy to do it, but I agree that food tastes better when someone else makes it!

    • October 13, 2010 1:36 pm

      That is nice he does it for your birthday! I don’t ask Hubby to do it often, so it is a treat!

      Sent via DROID on Verizon Wireless

  6. October 13, 2010 3:25 pm

    I am always the chef on our house. The husband says everything tastes better when I make it. Even sandwiches. LOL

    • October 13, 2010 3:36 pm

      I’m trying to master the sandwich, but so far my father in law still has me beat!

      Sent via DROID on Verizon Wireless

  7. October 13, 2010 9:30 pm

    Food is wonderful when you just have to show up and eat! What a sweet guy (and a talent in the kitchen) you have!

  8. October 18, 2010 12:42 pm

    love it!! Yes food does taste better when someone else makes it ; )

"Musings" Welcome!

