Skip to content

Steak Dinner

October 8, 2010

I would love to say that Hubby and I love dinner parties, but I’m pretty sure it’s just me 🙂

It had been a while since we’ve had one and due to the number of requests from our friends, it was high time for a dinner party!

 

We didn’t have much time, so we decided to do something simple: we provide the protein, everyone else bring the sides!

Hubby and I chose a steak dinner and got a great deal on the meats!

Our friends brought salad with strawberries and goat cheese…thanks M&M!

Cheese and crackers and gluten free scotcharoos from B&C!

My sister made rosemary garlic mashed potatoes, gluten free brownies, and our mom’s cranberry apple casserole 🙂

I submitted this recipe for the Electrolux Thanksgiving Sides Competition through Foodbuzz. It is absolutely decadent! I hope they give it a chance 🙂

Mom’s Cranberry Apple Casserole

Filling:

3 apples, chopped

2 cups cranberries

1 cup sugar

2 tbsp GF baking flour

 

Topping:

1 1/2 cups GF oats

1/2 cup GF baking flour

1/2 cup brown sugar

1/2 butter, melted

3/4 cup chopped walnuts

Directions: Place the filling in the casserole dish and cover it with the topping. Bake at 350 degrees for 50-60 minutes, until bubbly. Enjoy!

Dinner was delish! I LOVE dinner parties!

Do you throw dinner parties? What are some of your favorite themes?

12 Comments leave one →
  1. October 8, 2010 12:58 pm

    The cranberry dessert looks so good 🙂

    We don’t throw many dinner parties — we did when we first got married, but with Jason back in school it is sometimes hard to make plans at all!

    • October 8, 2010 9:50 pm

      Thanks, Holly! Dinner parties are tough to plan…hence why our guests brought most of the food!

  2. spoonfulofsugarfree permalink
    October 8, 2010 1:42 pm

    I LOVE dinner parties, but we are always so busy, and everyone else is, too! Halloween is coming, though, maybe a Halloween dinner party?

    I had one once a couple years ago for Halloween. We decorated the basement with cobwebs and dark lights. Then we had candles that looked like fingers, and we had “bloody eyes and worms” (spaghettis and meatballs) for dinner! So much fun….

  3. October 8, 2010 3:47 pm

    Ooooh, that cranberry apple casserole looks awesome!!

  4. October 8, 2010 3:48 pm

    Ohhh that casserole (I love that it’s a “casserole” btw!!) looks so good. As do the taters! My goodness, I wish I was there……

    • October 8, 2010 9:48 pm

      You’re invited to all our dinner parties! It just costs more for you to get here!

  5. October 8, 2010 6:03 pm

    Ohh that dessert looks awesome! I love making things similar to that! GF can be easy if you want it to be 🙂

  6. October 9, 2010 5:53 pm

    Yay for dinner parties! So much fun…and your dinner spread looks just perfect. The crumble recipe looks wonderful 🙂

    We’re big on game night with our friends–board games and appetizers instead of full-out dinner. I think I need to calm down my notion of dinner parties being a big production (and therefore stress!). As long as there’s good food and friends, that’s all you need!

  7. October 10, 2010 4:50 pm

    Everything looks SO good. I’m drooling over the cheese plate, haha.. no surprises there 😀

"Musings" Welcome!

