Skip to content

Thunder Thighs

October 4, 2010

By no means am I implying that I have large thighs, but after my 11 miler, an attempt to hike the incline, and a sprint workout today…my legs feel like they are made of lead and huge! I think I need some yoga 🙂

I, once again, woke up exhausted today! What is up!?! The alarm went off at 5AM, and I definitely had no second thoughts about moving it to 6AM. I need to get my butt in gear! But they do say, if you are tired, you must sleep (who is “they”? I think “they “is my subconscious saying SLEEP!!!) So that I have been doing.

I got up and went to my group workout session where we were doing the one thing I hate most but need most…sprinting!! Thank goodness for my pre-workout snack of coffee with a bit of almond milk and half a banana with almond butter…because I ate, I didn’t puke…ironic?? All my empty stomach co-workers didn’t have it so well 😦

Sprint Workout (to make your legs feel like thunder!)
-Sprint 100m, jog 300m
-25 push-ups in 25 seconds, 80 flutter kicks
-Sprint 200m, jog 200m
-18 push-ups in 18 seconds, 25 crunches
-Sprint 300m, jog 100m
-12 push-ups in 12 seconds, 30 1 leg cross sit-ups (knee to elbow, 15 each side)
-Sprint 100m, jog 300m

Then, if you are crazy, you go and run 3 miles (like me), and do pull-ups and more abs 🙂 I love the gym! Hopefully yoga tonight for this sore thunder queen 🙂

After working out, I rejuv-ed with some Coconut Juice, half a banana, and a handful of walnuts. Speaking of a handful of walnuts….I have to be really careful with my nut portions. I could eat a pound of walnuts in one sitting, but just to clarify, a handful is where you can fill your hand and close your fingers around all of the nuts so that your fingers can still touch your palm. Your hand should not be piled high with nuts. A new concept to grasp 🙂

Later I had my brekkie (a bit late) of oats with cinnamon, AB, cantaloupe, and blackberries 🙂 Soooo good! I burned my tongue…a little overzealous to indulge!

I forgot to photograph my lunch because I ate it so fast :-/

But here was my afternoon snack! It really held me over 🙂

My last Siggi’s 😦 Grapefruit was not my fave…a bit too tart for me! But the grapes cut it nicely 🙂

Gotta scram to see if I can make it to yoga!

Don’t you find it ironic that we are always RUSHING to make yoga class on-time?

12 Comments leave one →
  1. spoonfulofsugarfree permalink
    October 4, 2010 11:59 am

    Ohmygosh what a hard workout! You are like superwoman 😉

  2. October 4, 2010 12:49 pm

    Alyssa my thighs feel like thunder after just reading that workout — way to go!

    My legs feel like lead after my 10 miler yesterday. It feels good to sit down or lay down, but walking or walking up/down steps is killer!

    • October 4, 2010 1:58 pm

      Holly, i’m right there with you! I also raced a 10k this weekend and i’m feeling it! Great job on your race!

      Sent via DROID on Verizon Wireless

  3. October 4, 2010 3:06 pm

    Thanks for stopping by my blog! Love yours 🙂

  4. October 4, 2010 3:06 pm

    Wow that workout looks intense. I don’t think I would ever be able to handle it ha.

    • October 5, 2010 3:11 am

      Hollie, you are a cross country runner and swimmer in college! I’m sure you could handle it 🙂 Thanks for checking out my blog!

  5. October 4, 2010 7:43 pm

    I just got a coupon in the mail for siggi’s and I’ve been meaning to pick one up. I can’t wait to try one, thanks for reminding me! Have a great Monday 🙂

    • October 4, 2010 8:07 pm

      Natalia,

      I would recommend the blueberry as it was my favorite 🙂 or orange ginger! Both were lovely 🙂

      You have a wonderful Monday as well!

  6. October 4, 2010 9:05 pm

    haha I feel like I’m always stressed out and rushing on my way to yoga classes. just proves how much I NEED them.

    so impressed with your superstar workouts… and no wonder your legs are all gnarly! stretch that shit out good, girl 🙂

    • October 4, 2010 10:16 pm

      Lauren, hittin’ up the yogalicious class tonight! Hopefully I leave on time so I don’t have to stress yet again 🙂

  7. Anita permalink
    October 4, 2010 11:24 pm

    how do you find the time to shop for so much food? believe me, I know, you have to have fresh ingredients around all the time. we have costco s here but can’t use all of those large sizes of foods.

"Musings" Welcome!

