Skip to content

Curried Lentils=YUM

October 2, 2010

So, I bought a bunch of beans in bulk last week and was so excited to cook some up! I decided to start with the lentils, which are really more of a legume than they are a bean…and super easy to cook up!

I cooked a jar of lentils and saved half for the week and froze the other half for later.  Super easy trick for a quick meal! Just thaw out the lentils and you have an amazing protein 🙂

Oh yes, did I mention that I am trying to track my grocery spending? For a while I was really racking up the bills at Costco…not to mention, I was starting to get into a food rut. Buying the same thing week after week…I think Hubby started to get a bit bored 😦 (not like he would even try to cook a creative dinner on his own! ;-)) I did go to the grocery store about 3 times this week, but other than that, I’m doing well!

Ok, onto dinner!

I was playing with my camera settings 🙂

Dinner was a combo of roasted butternut squash (YAY FALL!), fresh spinach, and my Tikka Masala Lentil concoction 🙂

I must admit…it is really hard to make Indian food look appetizing! But it sure tastes great!

Into the Tikka Masala Mix went the following:

-1 strip bacon, diced and rendered

-1 onion, chopped

-3 sticks celery, diced

-1 cup mushrooms, sliced

-2 tomatoes, cubed

-3 roasted green chilies, diced

-1 cup broccoli, chopped

-2 cups lentils

-1 can tomato paste

-2 tbsp raw honey

-2 tbsp curry powder

-1 tbsp red chili flakes

-1 heaping tbsp garlic, chopped

-1 tbsp olive oil

-1 cup greek yogurt

-1 cup almond milk (milk of your choice)

Directions: Render the bacon over high heat. Add in the celery and onion until translucent. Next add in the mushrooms, tomato, and green chilies. Cook for 3 minutes. Lastly, add in the broccoli and lentils to steam. Meanwhile, mix the tomato paste and honey in a bowl, add a bit of hot water to thin, set aside. Next mix your curry powder, chili flakes, garlic and olive oil in another bowl, set aside.  Add both mixtures to the veggies and stir to combine.  Next, add in the yogurt and milk and stir to combine. Turn heat to low and allow mixture to thicken. Remove from heat and serve!

Sooo good! Next time we have this, because, yes, there were lots of leftovers! We will serve it over rice 🙂

Do you like ethnic dishes? Got any good recipes to share?!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Anita permalink
    October 3, 2010 12:20 am

    rinsed red lentils, water or chicken stock, diced tomatoes, diced potatoes, fresh ginger, garlic, diced onions, half a jalapeno, curry powder, bay leaves, onion powder, garlic powder, butternut squash if you have it, can of native forest coconut milk ( it’s amazing, tough not to drink it all before it gets in the soup ! ), small dash of cinnammon ( or omit ), I lightly sautee, onions, garlic, tomatoes, but don’t brown. Add all the other ingredients except the coconut milk. I add that at the end. I don’t salt the lentils until they are cooked. Round trip: 45 minutes. I’ve read if you salt first, they get tough. Also can heat some oil in skillet and pop some mustard seeds, cumin seeds, and cardomin seeds, a small amount goes a long way. Pour sizzling spices and hot oil over the soup. Can be served with rice. Could add chick peas. For those will allergies, careful of the spices unless you know they agree with you. This is not my recipe, it’s a combination of a few red lentil recipes I’ve read. Very versatile, you can make it your own. I suppose it would freeze well. In my household it’s gone before you know it. Thanks for everything.

  2. October 3, 2010 12:15 pm

    Oo that looks delish.. My “ethnic” recipes are pretty simple – like, Indian or Middle Eastern spices thrown in something simple like squash, lentils, or soup.
    I need to start buying beans in bulk! I could be saving soo much dinero.

  3. spoonfulofsugarfree permalink
    October 3, 2010 6:34 pm

    I Love ethnic recipes, but I totally agree that ethnic food does not look pretty. It tastes great, but it always looks like a greenish-brownish goop!

    • October 3, 2010 7:03 pm

      Haha, thanks Alex! It is very hard to beautify!

      Sent via DROID on Verizon Wireless

"Musings" Welcome!

