Skip to content

5 Toes

September 25, 2010

In case you hadn’t heard…Guess what I got!!!! Yup! Hubby and I both have a pair of Vibram 5 Fingers now! Fingers?? I know, but for me it’s 5 toes 🙂 These don’t fit well as gloves 🙂

I’ve been trying them out and love them 🙂 In the spirit of new things, Hubby and I decided to refresh our palate with an oldie but a goodie in terms of our ethnic food cravings…INDIAN FOOD!

Ever tried Indian? I have to say that it is definitely one of my absolute favorites 🙂 Once you have the spices, it is not very difficult to make it yourself either!

We indulged with a buy one get one free coupon to the Taste of India….soo good! Pardon the pictures, but the food doesn’t exactly look the best, but don’t be fooled by its looks!

Saag Lamb. Spinach and creamy curry over lamb and basmati rice with saffron and peas. How can you not like this! (besides the fact that it looks like baby poop…just a lil ;-))

Next up was Chicken Tikka Masala. This is usually much more creamy, whereas this one was not so much. Still tasted fab, just different.

Dessert was one of my other favorites! I love to keep this on hand for the random craving and in fact, this one has been in the fridge for a month or so!

Cinnamon Raisin Mochi! So simple! You cut and bake and enjoy 🙂

I kept some plain and stuffed others with Homemade Nuttzo and Fig Spread…sooo good! They tasted like little jelly filled donuts 🙂

Ever tried mochi before?? You can buy it at almost any natural food store. So cheap, so tasty and versatile, and surprisingly healthy 🙂

8 Comments leave one →
  1. September 25, 2010 4:06 pm

    I’m glad you are enjoying Vibrams, I’m not sure when I will be brave enough to try it 🙂

    I have the same mochi package in my refrigerator too, I have the chocolate flavor. I dipped it in brown rice sugar or have ice cream on the side. I eat it when I feel like have sweets, which has been everyday lately…but I mochi because it’s not too heavy but satisfy my sweet tooth.

    My fiance is not coming with me on the San Fran trip…we are officially roomies now 🙂

  2. September 25, 2010 5:57 pm

    YAAAY for Vibrams! 😀 I’ve been waiting to make sure I can really run injury free before I commit… I want some SOOO bad! (I used to run barefoot all the time!)

    I have not tried mochi… I see it all the time at my store, and look at it curiously… I may have to try it now… filled with jelly!

  3. September 26, 2010 9:25 am

    I’m curious about those Vibrams, I’ve seen them all around blogs lately..

    I have never tried mochi or even heard of it!

    • September 26, 2010 2:46 pm

      Anne,

      Both are fantastic 🙂 Although one is purely for eating, and the other for running. Don’t get them confused 😉

      ~Alyssa

  4. September 26, 2010 12:17 pm

    Never tried mochi before aside from on fro yo – but your cinnamon raisin looks very intriguing! I’ll have to try to find it….

    • September 26, 2010 2:47 pm

      I bet they have it at TJs. Not exactly the same as the stuff on fro-yo. It is made from sweet rice flour, but in a different form 🙂 It should be in the refrigerated section.

      ~Alyssa

  5. spoonfulofsugarfree permalink
    September 26, 2010 8:17 pm

    Oh I Love mochi! I’ve only ever bought the plain kind (which needs a bit of flavoring like a spread of nutbutter). The only place that I have found it was at a whole foods! It is so great for working out because the complex carbohydrates last you through a couple hours of intense training.

  6. September 27, 2010 2:55 pm

    I have never had Mochi. What is it?

    Also, I love Indian food. The husband on the other hand… not so much.

"Musings" Welcome!

